Hoyme named chair for the Department of Pediatrics

Hoyme named chair for the Department of Pediatrics
The Sanford School of Medicine of The University of South Dakota is pleased to announce that H. Eugene Hoyme, M.D., is the incoming chair for the Department of Pediatrics. Hoyme joins the Sanford School of Medicine from Stanford University, where he has served as professor of pediatrics and chief of medical genetics at the Lucile Packard Children's Hospital since 1997. He will assume his position on Aug. 1.

Dr. Hoyme is well-recognized by his peers as having a strong and sustained commitment to clinical practice, research and teaching. He is recognized internationally as an authority on clinical genetics and fetal alcohol syndrome. During his career, he has received numerous awards and prestigious appointments, including president of Western Society for Pediatric Research, chair of Executive Committee American Academy of Pediatrics Genetics Section, along with many others.

A native of Dell Rapids, Dr. Hoyme received his B.A. from Augustana College. He completed medical school at the University of Chicago, and his residency and fellowship training at the University of California, San Diego.

"As someone with strong South Dakota ties, Dr. Hoyme will serve as an excellent role model to the students of Sanford School of Medicine by underscoring the level of opportunities that exist for someone who was educated in South Dakota. Dr. Hoyme's approach to medical education is rooted in South Dakota values therefore he will serve as an excellent mentor to students and residents," said Dr. Rodney Parry, vice president/dean of the Sanford School of Medicine.

For more information, please contact Carmen Hammond, executive assistant to the vice president/dean at the Sanford School of Medicine at 605-357-1309 or Carmen. Hammond@usd.edu.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>