Law school teams earn high honors

Law school teams earn high honors
Teams from The University of South Dakota School of Law advanced to the finals and semifinals and received additional honors at two recent national mediation and negotiation competitions.

Michael Berger of Arden Hills, MN, and Casey Nixon of Pensacola, FL, both third-year law students at The U, advanced to the final round of the Robert R. Merhige Jr. National Environmental Negotiation Competition held March 30-31 in Richmond, VA. Berger and Nixon placed second overall. The competition, hosted by the University of Richmond School of Law, featured 18 teams from 10 law schools across the country. The U's team of Chrissy Van Berkum of North English, IA, and Dan Doyle of Sioux Falls, advanced to the semifinals of the national competition.

Two other USD law students were honored that same weekend at the National Law School Mediation Competition in Chicago, hosted by the Chicago Bar Association and The International Academy of Dispute Resolution. Todd Hyronimus of Sioux Falls received awards for Out- standing Mediator andOut-standing Attorney. Eric DeNure of Brookings received an award for Outstanding Client. The competition featured 16 teams from seven law schools, including one from Canada.� ��

USD team members serve on the Client Counseling and Negotiation Board, a co-curricular organization at The USD School of Law. Hyronimus is board president; Van Berkum is vice president; Nixon and Berger are senior board members; Doyle and DeNure are second-year students on the board. Faculty advisor for the organization is Dean Barry R. Vickrey.

About The University of South Dakota School of Law:

The University of South Dakota School of Law provides a high-quality legal education that prepares students for leadership in the administration of justice in South Dakota.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>