American Legion announces students chosen for elementary and middle school awards

American Legion announces students chosen for elementary and middle school awards
Vermillion American Legion Post No. 1 announces the students chosen for the 2007 School Awards. Teachers from each of the elementary schools and middle school select students to receive the American Legion School Awards. One boy and one girl from each grade are chosen annually for this honor.

In addition to an American Legion School Award certificate, each elementary student receives an American Legion Medal and each middle school student receives a cash award of $25.

Chosen from Austin Elementary were Haley Doty and Josh Prescott for the first grade and Kellie Castillo and Tyler Avis for

the second grade. Jolly School winners were Sowmya Ragothaman and Sam Craig from the third grade, Jessica Brady and Kobe Provost from the fourth grade, and Atalyssa Myron and Ty Iverson from the fifth grade.

At the middle school, Jackie Hulse and Anthony Leber represented the sixth grade, Kelly Amundson and Paul Granaas represented the seventh grade, and Janani Ragothaman and Cody Olson were the winners from the eighth grade.

St. Agnes School award winners were Emily Rolfes and Scott Leonard in the first grade, Catherine Leonard and Joey Wagner in the second grade, Tori Gundlach-Evans and Matthew Ouellette in grade three, Audry Miiller and Matthew Pearson representing the fourth grade and Alexa Mockler and Adam Ahmed were the award winners in the fifth grade.

"Students chosen to receive this recognition from the American Legion are students who have demonstrated outstanding devel- opment of the qualities of courage, honor, leadership, patriotism, scholarship, honesty, and service." said Roger Kozak, Legion Americanism Officer, "and American Legion Post No. 1 is proud to recognize these young boys and girls who have been chosen by their teachers to represent their respective grades for the 2007 school year."

Legion members Ray Hofman and Clinton Meadows assisted with the 2007 presentations.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>