Physiology professor at USD elected to Council of American Physiological Society

Physiology professor at USD elected to Council of American Physiological Society
Barbara E. Goodman, Ph.D., physiology professor at the Sanford School of Medicine of The University of South Dakota, was recently elected to the nine-member Council of The American Physiological Society (APS). Goodman's three-year term began May 2. She attended the APS annual meeting April 26-May 2.

Physiology is the study of how molecules, cells, tissues and organs function to create health or disease. The American Physiological Society has been an integral part of this scientific discovery process since it was established in 1887. The Society has 10,500 members and publishes 13 scientific journals containing almost 4,000 articles annually.

Goodman is a professor and director of special programs and science education at USD. Her scholarly work currently focuses on how students learn physiology. She has been active in the society's respiration and teaching sections and the epithelial transport group. She is an associate editor of the APS journal, Advances in Physiology Education, and has participated in many APS education programs, including a program in which she mentors high school science teachers. Goodman is a member of the education committee and the joint program committee for the society.

"The annual election always brings excitement, as new officers bring new ideas and approaches to guide the society into the future," said Martin Frank, the society's executive director. "We thank all the members who have stepped forward in varying capacities to help lead APS."

For more information, please contact Christine Guilfoy of The American Physiological Society at or (301) 634-7253 or visit

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>