University of South Dakota students honored for leadership

University of South Dakota students honored for leadership
More than two dozen students were honored for their extraordinary leadership on the campus of The University of South Dakota during the 17th annual USD Leadership Recognition Awards Reception.

Sponsored by the Student Activities Center, this reception paid tribute to students who were nominated for distinction by their peers, faculty and staff. Awards were determined by a committee of members from USD faculty, along with staff and students. Matthew Fairholm, Ph.D., assistant professor of political science at USD, was the keynote speaker for the event.

All students, undergraduate or graduate, were eligible for nomination, which included 25 recipients in 10 categories and two scholarships.

Holly Miller of Bellevue, NE, received the New Student Leader Award, which is presented to a first-year student who has become involved in campus or community activities; Joseph Cooch of Spearfish, was awarded the Service Learning Advocate Award, which is given to a student who has exemplified leadership in the doctrine of service-learning; Jerry Kroon of Sioux Falls, was presented with the Outstanding Advisor Award, which is given annually to an advisor of a student organization who has excelled in all duties; Ashlee Bauerly of Sioux City, IA, received the Community Spirit Award, given to a student whose work demonstrates a compassion for others through efforts in community service on a local, national or global level; Ted Cherry of Valentine, NE, Lewis Eggleston of Scribner, NE, and Mike Hillman of Sioux Falls, were each awarded the Unsung Leader Award, presented to three students who have participated in campus or community organizations without receiving – nor seeking – deserved recognition; Denise Casillas of Eagle Butte received the Rosa Louise Parks Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes a student demonstrating a commitment to the university that contributes to intercultural awareness and relationship building; Drew Schwartz of Sioux Falls, Garett Howardson of Clark, and Hans Nelson of Belle Fourche, were presented with the Outstanding Leadership and Service Award, which is given to three students each year for demonstrating outstanding leadership and service by participating in one of more leadership positions and by making a significant contribution to campus or community life; Shane Schellpfeffer of Sioux Falls, was honored with the Graduate Student Leadership Award for demonstrating outstanding leadership and enrichment of campus life at USD; and Carmen Meyer of Yankton, was this year's recipient of the Dave Lorenz Senior Leadership Award, named in honor of Dave Lorenz, former Dean of Students at USD. This award is presented annually to a graduating senior who has enriched campus life throughout his or her tenure at USD.

Madison Osland of Rapid City, was awarded the Julie Anderson Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship was created to encourage students to grow and develop in their college careers through campus leadership and classroom activities. The Julie Anderson Scholarship Endowment was establi shed to honor the memory of Julie Mickelson Anderson, a 1965 graduate of USD.

Corianne Bazemore of Vermillion, was awarded the Thomas W. Taylor Memorial Scholarship. Established in 1985 in honor of Thomas Taylor, an active member of the USD Foundation's board of directors, this scholarship is presented annually to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership characteristics.

Ten students also received Who's Who Among Students recognition, a national program that honors scholastic achievement. They were Janelle Bludorn of Watertown; Angela Geesman of Jackson, MN; Adam Ladwig of Sioux Falls; Darla Brandt of Avon; Felicia Barnes of Yankton; Reina Wipf of Vermillion; Bethanna Feist of Pierre; Alexandrina Rezac of Canton; Stephanie Suhrbier of Lehigh, IA, and Elizabeth Linneweber of Garretson.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>