VHS students receive honors at Awards Day

VHS students receive honors at Awards Day

The annual awards day for seniors and underclassmen at Vermillion High School was held Tuesday, May 8 in the high school auditorium.

The awards and their recipients are: Youth Business Adventure, Stacy Bottolfson, Alex Schaack; Accounting Award, Stacey Bottolfson; Prairie Eye Clinic Scholarship, Shannon Robinet; American Legion Citizenship Award, Ariel Hofman, Nahuel Telleria; American Legion Citizenship Oratorical Award, Amanda Zalud; Vermillion American Legion Club Award, Amanda Zalud, Harrison Hawley; Rotary Club Award, Gabe Steinmeyer; Boys State delegates, Alex Anderson-Kahl, Jackson Freidel, Tyler Husby, Garrett Jepsen, and Billy Kjelden; Girls State delegates, Sarah Hansen, Maggie Green, Amanda Barton, Raychel Lorenz, Dru Daniels, first alternate: Jane Reasoner, second alternate, Liz Day; United States Marine Awards: Semper Fidelis, Amanda Yockey; Scholastic Excellence, Nahuel Telleria; Distinguished Athlete, Annie Roche, Robert Dykstra; U.S. Army Reserve National Scholar Athlete Award, Annie Roche, Paul Hammond; U.S. Air Force Math/Science Award, Winnie Zou; First Bank and Trust Award, Tyler Thedorff; First Bank and Trust Students of the Month, Andrew Pearson, Krista Froke, Anna Isaacson, Zach Weiss, Nahuel Telleria, Annie Roche, Ariel Hofman, AJ Manning, Steph Taylor, Ryan Powell, Bobby Dykstra, Lindsey Morecraft, Molly Hammond, Brody Stone, Molly Manning, Sara Rasmussen; Yankton Medical Clinic Award, Amanda Zalud; Daughters of the American Revolution Award, McKinsey Weydert; Vermillion Retired Teachers Award, Brody Stone; Clay County Elephant Club Award, Andrew Pearson; First Dakota National Bank Award, Gabe Steinmeyer; Steve Merrigan Memorial Award, Andrew Manning; Eagles Aerie Award, Harrison Hawley; Eagles Auxiliary Award, Stacey Joy; Lions Club Award, Stacey Joy, AJ Manning; Vermillion Civic Council Salute to Volunteers, Brody Stone, Stacey Joy; HOBY, Jennifer Noiva; Evelyn Lee Memorial, Cecily Engelhart, Molly Hammond; USD Scholarships, Tyler Annis, Clare Bucklin, Cecily Engelhart, Katarina Gombocz, David Hulse, Sarah McCann, Anne Roche, Nicholas Schaffer, Brody Stone, Amanda Zalud, Winnie Zou; Catholic Daughters, Ariel Hofman, Alicia Moreau; Sanford Vermillion Medical Center and Dakota Hospital Foundation Award, Winnie Zou; Sam Walton Award, Stacey Joy, Gabe Steinmeyer; Ben Leber Award, Annie Roche; Student Debate Awards, Hannah Pommersheim, Nahuel Telleria; Ronald McDonald House Award, Nahuel Telleria; Bill O'Keefe Memorial Acadademic All-State Award, Nahuel Telleria; Associated School Boards of South Dakota Luncheon with the Governor, Ariel Hofman; National Hispanic Recognition Program, Nahuel Telleria; 2008 National Merit Scholarship, Amanda Granaas; Herbert and Lauretta Holoch Award, Andrew Pearson; KCAU Best of the Class Award, Winnie Zou; KSFY Brightest and Best Award, Hannah Pommersheim, Nahuel Telleria; Denim for Dollars Award, Brody Stone, Andrew Pearson, Shannon Robinet, Krista Froke; Auto Mechanics Award, Eric McPherson, Tyler Thedorff, Mike Heine, Travis Miller, Karl Brewer, Matt Neal, Ricky Meins, Ryan Gilbertson, Pat Gregg, Tyler Annis; Yearbook, Tristen Upward, Annika Sjolie; Newspaper Award, Nahuel Telleria, Amanda Barton; National Honors Society, Bobbi Greenfield; VEA, Brody Stone; Math Awards, Jiwen Li, April Sun, Sierra Allen; Donald O'Connor Wrestling Award, Harrison Hawley; Dennis Helseth Football Award, Andrew Pearson; Clay County Youth Trust Fund (Rosie & Vi Venard), Harrison Hawley; Clay County Youth Trust Fund (Centennial), Amanda Zalud; Sophomore Good Citizenship Award, Leah Miller, Chris Cameron; Governor's Leadership Award, David Donohoe, Chris Cameron, Jiwen Li, Anthony Thomas; Student Council Awards, Stacey Joy; Retirement Appreciation Awards, Linda Paulson, Don Donahoe.







Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>