Tanager football camp draws record number of athletes

Tanager football camp draws record number of athletes
The Tanager Football Camp played host to a record number of Vermillion football players last week (June 18-22) at the Vermillion High School practice fields. Seventy-two players, ranging from seventh grade through 12th grade, participated at the camp.

The camp was hosted by the Vermillion football coaching staff. Included on the staff was Gary Culver, camp director and head football coach at Vermillion High School; Roger Heirigs, assistant varsity coach at VHS; Jason Huska, assistant varsity coach at VHS; Jason Gault, freshman coach at VHS; Kyle Seibel, middle school coach at VMS; Bart Miller, VHS graduate and USD student assistant coach at VHS; and Jim McGuire, retired assistant varsity coach at VHS. The staff has a combined 150 years of football coaching experience.

Amy Richardson, head athletic trainer at Vermillion High School, served as trainer for the football camp. She was assisted at the camp by student trainers Molli Greenfield and McKenzie Culver.

"I am extremely blessed to have such an experienced staff take their time and work at the football camp this summer," Culver said. "They were really the key to the success of the camp."

The camp instruction included technique in all individual offensive and defensive positions as well as team "skeleton" techniques on the offensive and defensive sides of the ball.

Culver added, "As I stated to the players attending the camp – 90 percent of this camp is the mental aspect of the game and 10 percent is the physical aspect.

"We cannot make any of these athletes football players in one week," he emphasized. "But the point of the camp is to take the things they have learned and work on them the next two months before football practice begins. This is when the mental and physical parts of the game interconnect and become one. This is what football camp is all about."

Attending the camp were Luke Heine, Gerrit Heine, Tom Mollet, Riley Vlasman, Tom Walker, William Card, Jordan Robinson, Tyler Steele, Ben Kozak, Alex Anderson-Kahl, Jordan Merrigan, Tony Henderson, Christian Wasley, Billy Kjelden, Chase Allen, Joseph Mazour, Chris Cameron, Tanner Anderson, Heath Hubert, Lance Hubert, Blaine Hubert, Clint Hubert, Jake Hogen, Kyle Weiss, Bennett Johnson, Thomas Clark, Preston Ellenbolt, DJ Donahue, Anthony Leber, Brock Allen, Nathan Garrett, Josh Callahan, Tanner Settles, Blaine Olson, Cody McGill, Stetson Kastengren, Alex Larson, Mike Walker, Caleb Miller, Ryan Husby, Tyler Husby, Austin Krier, Mike Brunick, Alex Robertson, Joey Mueller, Ryan Kost, Andrew Kost, Cody Merrigan, JR Moore, Collin Bertram, Nick Anglin, Lucas Zimmerman, Jerrod Freidel, Jackson Friedel, Kylen Freidel, Gage Thomas, Andrew McCann, Colin Olson, Kyle Nemec, Taylor Clark, Greg Anderson, Chase Meierkort, Reid Meierkort, Evan Hanson, Zach McDonald, Michael Sand, Nick Mart, Travis Jerred, Dan Goeden, Tanner Mart, Mike Oberle and CJ Haakinson.

"Mr. Hustle" Award winners during camp were Jerrod Freidel, Chase Allen, Tom Mollet, Colin Olson, Luke Heine, Taylor Clark, Gage Thomas and Preston Ellenbolt. Each player attending camp also received a camp T-shirt. Popsicles and refreshments were provided during the breaks.

"The players attending the camp really did a great job and Mother Nature cooperated with us other than a 'lightning-shortened' Thursday session," Culver said. "These guys made the camp a huge success and a lot of fun. I think we, as coaches, had as much fun as the players during the camp. Every coach found great individual improvement and success in their respective coaching positions."

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>