USD finishes strong at NCC cross country championships

USD finishes strong at NCC cross country championships
The University of South Dakota women's cross country team, led by a second-place individual finish by Ramsey Kavan, placed third at the North Central Conference Cross Country Championships on Saturday in Duluth, MN. The South Dakota men's team was led by the fifth-place finish of Matt Yaggie and claimed fourth place in the men's team race.

Kavan, a sophomore from Yankton, covered the 6K course in 21:43 and finished behind Rachel Stangler of Augustana, who won the women's individual title in 21:39. Augustana captured the women's team championship with 36 points. North Dakota was second in the team race with 61 points with USD finishing third with 62 points.

The rest of the women's team race included Minnesota-Duluth, fourth, 114; Minnesota State, fifth, 115; Nebraska-Omaha, sixth, 147; and St. Cloud State, seventh, 207.

Aside from Kavan, freshman Emma Erickson (Gayville) was ninth in 22:44 with Kelsey Maloney (Jr., Sioux Falls), 13th in 22:54. USD freshman Sarah Wickman (Iowa City, IA) was 16th in 23:01. Also for USD, Heather Kuhlmann (So., Nebraska City, NE) was 23rd in 23:35 while Jessica Lundgren (Jr., Truman, MN) was 24th in 23:45. USD's Allison Duba (Jr., Sioux Falls) finished 38th in 24:26 while Julie Lux (Fr., Fishers, IN) was 59th in 27:18.

Yaggie, a junior from Mission Hill, was fifth in the men's individual race as he covered the 8K course in 25:41.7. USD finished fourth in the men's team standings with 99 points. Minnesota State won the team race with 24 points while Augustana was second with 62 points and Minnesota-Duluth, third, 67 points. After USD, North Dakota was fifth with 120 points while St. Cloud State was sixth. Denise Mokaya of Minnesota State won the men's individual championship in 24:46.5.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>