USD women’s swimming and diving team defeats UNI, 142-97

USD women's swimming and diving team defeats UNI, 142-97
The University of South Dakota women's swimming and diving team, led by three wins from senior Leita Rolfe, improved their dual meet record to 3-0 with a win over Northern Iowa, 142-97, at the DakotaDome.

USD had seven individual or relay wins against UNI and one record-setting performance. Sophomore Meredith Howell (Lenexa, KS) picked up a win in the 200 Fly (2:30.05) while re-setting her school-meter record in the event.

USD received three wins from Rolfe (Newcastle, WY), including individual titles in the 200 free (2:11.25) and 200 breaststroke (2:45.86) as well as a member of the 200 medley relay (2:02.98). USD's winning 200 medley relay also consisted of Megan Gordon (Senior; Grand Rapids, MN), Erin Wagoner (Junior; Newcastle, WY) and Stacy Bjorlie (Junior; Austin, MN).

Junior Sara Holman (Bloomington, MN) picked up two individual wins, including the 800 free (9:32.09) and 400 free (4:38.52). Mary Holman (Junior; Bloomington, MN) finished second in the 800 free (9:34.73) and 400 free (4:40.71). Bjorlie won the 50 free (27.47) with a NCAA DII provisional qualifying time for nationals and finished second in the 100 free (1:01.57).

On the boards, senior Jill Smolczyk (Omaha, NE) picked up her first win of the season in one-meter diving (229.40) while Emilie Kluth (Senior; Columbus, NE) claimed the win in three-meter diving (235.65). Freshmen Hannah Roetzel (Newcastle, WY) was second in the one-meter competition (218.10) while Kacie Miller (Denver, CO) was second on the three-meter (209.95) board. USD also received top-three performances from Mary Klima (Sophomore; Leavenworth, KS) in the 200 free (2:16.34) and Wagoner in the 200 IM (2:33.63).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>