VHS varsity wrestlers claim conference crown

VHS varsity wrestlers claim conference crown
In a dual at Hartford last Thursday Dec. 13, the Tanagers bested the West Central Trojans 45 – 25 to secure their Big 8 Conference Team Championship.

Individual scoring results:

103 – L. Vandermore(WC) WBF(3:07) over Joey Mueller(V); 112 – Lance Burkhart(V) WB forfeit; 119 – Earl Kiertzner(V) WB forfeit; 125 – JR Moore(V) WBF(1:07) over Casey Lane(WC); 130 – Tony Hubert(V) WBF(3:26) over Travis Pierce(WC); 135 – Zach Mettler(WC) won by decision(8 – 3) over Brad Orr(V); 140 – Tim Weber(WC) won major decision(11-2) over Jeff Anglin(V); 145 – Andrew Eidem(V) WBF(1:15) over Justin Berguson(WC); 152 – Tanner Mart(V) WBF(1:36) over Seth Hodges(WC); 160 – Dylan Peterson(WC) won by decision(9 – 3) over Chris Mast(V); 171 – Jerome Hunt(WC) won by decision(7 – 1) over Luke Heine(V); 189 – Nick Mart(V) WB forfeit; 215 – Gerrit Heine(V) won by decision(5 – 0) over Michael Jensen(WC); 285 – M. Kapperman(WC) WBF(4:18) over Jake Knutson(V).

"This was a very succful night for us as we were able the clinch the conference team crown. Our four pins and the nice improvements by a couple of our guys over our performance against West Central last Saturday in Yankton really helped," said coach Casey O'Connor. "We still have several things to work out before the Lincoln Tournament in Sioux Falls next Friday and Saturday, Dec 21-22.

Junior varsity results:

119 – Justin Ericson(WC) WBF(3:14) over Tony Hendersen; 140 – Ethan Shumacher(WC) WBF(1:14) over Ethan Druin; 152 – Spencer Hastings(WC) major Dec (14 – 1) over Carson Sullivan; 152 – Spencer Hastings WBF(1:54) over Andrew McCann; 160 – Jordan Moos(V) WBF(0:44) over Jack Carda(WC); 171 – Aaron Welch(WC) WBF(5:39) over Chase Allen.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>