U News names students to spring semester leadership positions

U News names students to spring semester leadership positions

Fifteen students from The University of South Dakota's Department of Contemporary Media & Journalism (CMJ) were named to U News leadership positions for the 2008 spring semester. In addition to producing, writing and directing for U News, students will serve as reporters and hosts for the program, which is broadcast live weekly at 5 p.m. beginning Wednesday, Jan. 30 on Midcontinent Cable (KYOT, channel 21, in Vermillion and many surrounding areas.

Kristen Whitman of Council Bluffs, IA, and Andrew Dykstra of Alcester, have been named co-producers for U News while Jamie Bulian of Yankton, and Andrew Buchholz of Tripp, will serve as news anchors. Sara McIntosh of Sioux City, IA, and Marcus Brooks of Sioux Falls, will take turns as sports anchors under the direction of South Sioux City, NE, native Ryan Moore, who has been named sports director. Moore will also host and produce "Sports Shorts" for KYOT. Bryce Riediger of Lawton, IA, was named assistant sports director, and Amy Mart of Vermillion and Justin Rust of Rock Rapids, IA, will host U News' Athlete-of-the-Week segment. Clark Young of Omaha, NE, will serve as technical director and editor for U News while Jenifer Jones of Milbank, will be the new U Chat host. Nick Anson of Canton, and Jeff Kleeman of Vermillion will alternate in their roles as U Commentators and Allison Wik of Faulkton, will be the live correspondent reporter.

U News is an opportunity for USD students to gain professional, ethical and leadership experience while creating informational programming for a weekly audience. All U News leadership positions were open to any full-time USD student regardless of their major. U News adviser is Michelle Van Maanen, Ed.D.







Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>