USD’s Erickson records the nation’s best 800-meter time

USD's Erickson records the nation's best 800-meter time
Led by Emma Erickson's nation-best performance in the 800-meter run, The University of South Dakota track and field squads won 14 individual or relay titles in a dominating performance by the Coyotes at the Alumni Graphic Edge Track and Field Meet held at the DakotaDome on Saturday, Jan. 26.

Erickson won the women's 800-meter run in 2:10.29 which is the best time in NCAA Division II in 2008.

A freshman from Gayville, her clocking set a DakotaDome women's record and she became just the second athlete in school history to record a clocking of 2:10 in the 800-meter run. She finished just nine hundredths of a second away from the school record of 2:10.20 that Jennifer Munyan established at the 1997 Indoor Nationals.

During the meet, USD recognized three former student-athletes, who were inducted into the USD Track and Field Hall of Honor on Saturday.

The inductees included Chase Anderson of St. Cloud, MN, Deb Dodds Duggan of Council Bluffs, IA and Dr. Jay Ortman of Canistota.

Women's Review

Overall, the Coyote women's team took six titles, including two by Ramsey Kavan. Kavan won the women's mile run with a clocking of 5:11.24. She also captured the 1,000-meter run in 3:06.58. USD's Allison Duba (Sioux Falls) was fourth in the 1,000-meter run 3:17.30.

Erickson also anchored the Coyotes' 4×400-meter relay to a title in 4:01.95. The squad, which edged out a second USD team, included Allie Smith, Jenessa Filler, Jade Jasinski and Erickson. The other USD 4×400-meter relay team, which had a clocking of 4:02.14, included Shaneaka Parkes, Lauren Krell, Sara Miller and Rosalie Brueske.

Stephanie Gebhart won the women's 400-meter title with a clocking of 56.95. Overall, USD had three of the top four finishers in the race, including Brueske, who claimed third in 59:13 with Sarah Miller taking fourth in 59:35.

Parkes finished second in the 60-meter dash at 7.90 with Filler taking third in 8.07 and Krell, fourth in 8.09.

Parkes was also third in the women's 200-meter dash with a time of 26.12. Overall, the Coyote women's team placed four athletes among the top seven finishers in the 200-meter dash.

In other women's highlights, Tia Haines was fourth in the women's long jump at 16'08 feet. The Coyote women also placed two in the top three of the women's weight throw. Amy Velthoff was second at 49'02.25 while Danielle Dornbusch was third at 46'04.25.

Natalie Stout won the women's triple jump title at 37'02.25. Betsy Lubbers finished second in the triple jump at 37'00.25. In addition, Katie Cerling was third in the women's pole vault at 11'06.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>