SD track and field athletes enjoy big day at the Iowa State Classic

SD track and field athletes enjoy big day at the Iowa State Classic
The University of South Dakota men's and women's track and field teams recorded one automatic and four provisional qualifying marks for the NCAA Division II national meet during competition at the Iowa State Track and Field Classic in Ames, IA.

Freshman Emma Erickson (Gayville) finished eighth in the women's 800-meter run with a clocking of 2:10.18. The performance by Erickson was an automatic qualifying mark for the DII nationals. It is the third time during this indoor season that she has met the automatic standard in the event.

Erickson was also part of the women's 4×400-meter relay that had a provisional qualifying mark of 3:46.34 and just missed missing the automatic time of 3:45.20. Erickson was joined on the relay by Stephanie Gebhart (Sr., Elkton), Rosalie Brueske (So., Woonsocket) and Sara Miller (Sr., Rapid City). The Coyotes finished 13th but were defeated only by Division I squads. The Coyote relay squad now has the second fastest time in Division II this year.

Also for the Coyote women's team, Ramsey Kavan (So., Yankton) crushed the school record in finishing ninth in the 3,000-meter run. Kavan had a clocking of 9:45.35, a time that broke the record of 9:55.97 by Molly Wedel in 2002.

Leading the way for the men's team was Dominic Artis (Jr., Brooklyn Park, MN), who had a provisional mark of :21.57 in the 200-meter dash. Artis, who finished eighth in the event, ran the seventh fastest time in Division II this season. He also finished 14th in the 60-meter dash (7.04).

Scott Hargens (Sr., Sioux Falls) had a season-best performance in the men's 800-meter run by finishing 21st with a provisional mark of 1:52.29. Hargens recorded the fifth-best 800-meter time in Division II this year. Tyler Wetering (Sr., Sioux Falls) had a provisional mark of 4:13.29 (25th place) in the men's mile run.

In the men's 4×400-meter relay, the Coyotes finished 31st but clocked a 3:20.41, which was just off the provisional mark for nationals. The team included Artis, Hargens, Ben Oberle (Jr., Vermillion), and Tyler Williamson (So., Estelline).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>