Lavin, Jeana Hoffman are honored at banquet

Lavin, Jeana Hoffman are honored at banquet
For the first time in school history, Chad Lavin of The University of South Dakota has been named the Russell Athletic/WBCA NCAA Division II Women's Basketball Coach of the Year.

Lavin was named the national coach of the year at the Elite Eight Championship Banquet held in Kearney, NE, on Tuesday, March 25.

Also at the honors ceremony, USD's Jeana Hoffman was named a WBCA/State Farm All-American.

Lavin, who is in his 14th and final season at the helm of the Coyote program, has directed the Coyotes to a school record 31-1 record this season.

Lavin led the Coyotes to the program's first-ever appearance in the Elite Eight Championship. He has taken seven Coyote teams to the national playoffs.

With Lavin's direction, the Coyotes won the 2008 North Central Region Championship for the first time in school history. USD, which has already broken 11 school records this season, defeated Colorado State-Pueblo, 66-55; Nebraska-Kearney, 59-48; and Minnesota State, 61-49, in the regional.

Lavin owns a 6-6 record in NCAA Division II playoff games. His Coyote squad finished the NCC with a 12-0 record and became just the sixth team to ever record an unbeaten season in league history.

For the first time ever, the Coyotes won the NCC Postseason Tournament with a 72-69 decision over North Dakota on March 9.

In 2007-08, he was named the NCC Coach of the Year for the fourth time of his career. He also was selected the Russell Athletic/WBCA North Central Regional Coach of the Year for the second time of his illustrious career.

Lavin has led the Coyotes to five NCC titles. Those teams including the 2007-08 Coyotes as well as teams in 2002-03, 1982-83, 1983-84 and 1984-85. He has coached seven 20-win teams, including six at South Dakota.

Lavin owns an overall record of 271-140 (.659) at South Dakota and has a career coaching mark of 446-300 (.598) He finished his career with a 112-88 record in NCC games.

A native of Clear Lake, Lavin was a three-year letter winner for South Dakota men's basketball team while a student at USD. He was named Academic All-NCC in 1978. He earned a B.S. degree in business management from USD in 1978 and an M.A. degree in physical education in 1983.

Hoffman, a senior from Mitchell, is the fifth Coyote women's player named All-American. Named MVP of both the NCC and the NCC Postseason Tournament, Hoffman leads the nation with 3.55 three-point field goals per game.

She set a school record for three-point baskets in a season with 115 (Shelby Petersen, 1991-92, 89). In addition, she has 184 three-point field goals in her career which ranks second all-time for a career at USD. Hoffman, who averages 17.2 points and 3.6 rebounds per game, has earned Academic All-NCC and second-team ESPN The Magazine Academic All District honors this season.

She was also named to the Daktronics All-North Central Region team and to the North Central Region All-Tournament Team.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>