Long slate of local candidates on ballot for June 3 primary vote

Long slate of local candidates on ballot for June 3 primary vote
Clay County citizens who wish to avoid long lines during the upcoming June 3 primary election may vote absentee beginning Tuesday, April 22.

All that is required is that they bring along some form of photo identification, such as a driver's license, to the county auditor's office to obtain the ballots.

Local voters likely will discover that casting ballots this spring will be a time-consuming process.

They will be asked to make decisions that will have some bearing on the Democratic and Republican races for chief executive.

Voters will also decide the nominee of their party for November's U.S. Senate general election.

Local races include a long slate of candidates hoping to eventually be elected to the Clay County Commission.

Among Republicans seeking three at-large positions for a four year term on the commission are Donna Schafer, Craig Myron and Paul Hagenbush, all of Vermillion, and Travis Mockler of Centerville. None of the Republican candidates are currently serving on the commission.

Democrats vying for three at-large positions for a four year term on the commission are incumbent Leo Powell, Gerald Holman and Jerry W. Wilson, all of Vermillion, Robert Kyte and Raymond (Dusty) Passick, both of Burbank, and Marilyn Rohrer of Wakonda.

Catherine Powell will face no opposition June 3, and will automatically serve another four year term as Clay County treasurer.

Teddi Gertsma of Vermillion, who is seeking re-election to a four year term as Clay County state's attorney, is being challenged by Grant Walker of Selby.

Republican Alton Siecke, Vermillion, the incumbent county coroner, is being challenged for a four year term in that office by Democrat Phillip Tigert, also of Vermillion.

District 17's South Dakota Senate and House office-holders won't be known until votes are cast in the November general election

Incumbent Democrat Benjamin Nesselhuf and Republican Jared Higman, both of Vermillion, will face off in the November election.

In the District 17 race of S.D. House of Representatives, Republicans Jamie Boomgarden of Chancellor, the incumbent, and John Lang of Lennox, will automatically move on to the November general election. They will be challenged in November by the top two vote-getters June 3 in a field of four Democrats. Incumbent Eldon Nygaard of Vermillion is being challenged by John Reedy and Caitlin Collier, both of Vermillion, and Thomas Jones of Viborg.

There will be new faces serving on the Vermillion City Council in July when the terms of new aldermen begin.

Steven Kincaid Ward and Clarene Meins face no opposition and will automatically take office to represent the Southeast and Northeast wards, respectively.

J. Howard Willson, the only candidate for election to the Northwest Ward, was appointed to the city council April 7 to fill a vacancy in that position.

Central Ward incumbent Alderman Roger Jeck is being challenged in June 3's election by Jennifer French. The Central Ward race is the only contest among the four positions that required nominees.

Each new or re-elected member to the city council will serve a four year term.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>