Frank Leibfarth named<br />NCC male scholar-athlete

Frank Leibfarth named
NCC male scholar-athlete Frank Leibfarth, a two-time Academic All-American for The University of South Dakota football team, was named the recipient of the 2008 NCC Male Scholar-Athlete award. The award was presented to Leibfarth at the NCC Celebration Dinner. The award is given annually to one male and one female senior student-athlete who distinguish themselves through academic performance, athletic ability and community activities. The recipients of the NCC Scholar-Athlete Award are selected by the leagueâ�?�?s institutional representatives from the NCC Honor Athletes announced in May. Each school selects one male and one female student-athlete for the Honor Athlete recognition. Leibfarth (Sr., Yankton) is the ninth USD student-athlete to earn the NCC Scholar-Athlete award. He is the second member of the football team (Jerus Campbell, 1983) to earn the award. Last year Mara McGill, of the womenâ�?�?s track and field team, was named the NCC Female Scholar-Athlete. Leibfarth graduated with a 3.95 GPA in chemistry and physics after posting a 4.0 this past spring. He was named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America first team for two-straight years. He has also been named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VII College Division first team and is a two-time Academic All-NCC selection. In 2006 he was selected to the USA Today All-USA College Academic Team, a squad that is composed of 20 students from all colleges and universities across the nation. He has been named to the NCC Commissionerâ�?�?s Academic Honor Roll for three-straight years. A Goldwater Scholar, he is the only Coyote student athlete (just seventh USD student overall) to ever earn that honor. In 2005, he completed a summer National Science Foundation Research Experience for Undergraduates at Columbia University. This spring he was named the USD Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year. By scoring 75 points during his senior season, Leibfarth finished his career tied for the school career record for points scored. He tied Jason Leberâ�?�?s (1993-96) record of 236 career points. Leibfarth made 12 field goals in 2007 and was a perfect 39-of-39 on extra point attempts. Against Winona State, he made a career-best 52-yard field goal. USD NCC Scholar-Athlete Award Recipients: â�?¢ 1983 â�?�? Jerus Campbell, football. â�?¢ 1984 â�?�? Karrin Wallen, womenâ�?�?s basketball. â�?¢ 1987 â�?�? Jean Misterek, womenâ�?�?s basketball. â�?¢ 1999 â�?�? Matt Hoyt, menâ�?�?s cross country/menâ�?�?s track & field. â�?¢ 2001 â�?�? Jeremy Kudera, menâ�?�?s basketball. â�?¢ 2003 â�?�? Julia Frie, womenâ�?�?s basketball. â�?¢ 2004 â�?�? Mandy Koupal, womenâ�?�?s basketball. â�?¢ 2007 â�?�? Mara McGill, womenâ�?�?s track & field. â�?¢ 2008 â�?�? Frank Leibfarth, football.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>