Tanager grapplers are tourney champs

Tanager grapplers are tourney champs By Parker Knox
Sportswriter Vermillion wrestlers rolled to four more dual victories at the Yankton Invitational Saturday, extending their season-opening streak to eight wins in a row, before losing a 39-34 decision to Canton in the day's final dual. Nevertheless, the Tanagers came home with the tournament championship. Vermillion��?s win over Yankton in the morning's first matchup, a 34-26 VHS triumph, proved to be decisive since the Tanagers and the Bucks both finished the day at 4-1. The head-to-head win handed the trophy to the Tanagers. Joe Delvaux's grapplers also whipped Norfolk 62-12, defeated Mitchell 36-27 for their second win of the day over an ESD Conference foe, and whitewashed West Central 66-9. Tanager wrestlers T.J. North and Andrew Eidem went 5-0 for the day to win individual titles at 112 and 145 pounds, respectively. Nick Mart at 189 and Gerrit Heine at 285 both had 4-1 days and also won championships. The next competition for VHS will be at the power-packed Sioux Falls Lincoln Invitational on Dec. 29-30. VHS 34, Yankton 26 103: Trevor Rush (Y) tech. fall over Joey Mueller 17-1. 112: T.J. North (V) pinned Mark Vetter 3:47. 119: Justin Little (Y) pinned Tony Henderson 4:27. 125: Lance Burkhart (V) dec. Logan Smith 4-3. 130: Jake Dempsey (Y) dec. Earl Kiertzner 8-4. 135: Gabe Messler (Y) dec. J.R. Moore 11-10. 140: Jason Stuen (Y) dec. Bennett Johnson 7-5. 145: Andrew Eidem (V) pinned Cody Silvernail 0:50. 152: Iden Ramey (Y) won by forfeit. 160: Chris Mart (V) dec. Paul Hunhoff 3-0. 171: Tanner Mart (V) maj. dec. Kory Bromley 13-1. 189: Nick Mart (V) pinned Powers Schumer 2:31. 215: Will Mart (V) dec. Matt Wiedmeier 10-7. 285: Gerrit Heine (V) dec. Brice Sayler 10-5. VHS 62, Norfolk 12 103: Joey Mueller (V) pinned Brady Mueller 0:43. 112: T.J. North (V) pinned Colby Austin 0:24. 119: Tony Henderson (V) won by forfeit. 125: Lance Burkhart (V) pinned Blake Anderson 1:24. 130: Earl Kiertzner (V) maj. dec. Paul Dolezal 15-4. 135: J.R. Moore (V) maj. dec. Mitch Lieneman 14-2. 140: Nick Korth (N) pinned Bennett Johnson 1:03. 145: Andrew Eidem (V) pinned Colby Lint 2:33. 152: Brad Orr (V) won by injury default over Taylor Sudbeck. 160: Chris Mart (V) won by forfeit. 171: Tanner Mart (V) maj. dec. Jordan Hawkins 10-1. 189: Nick Mart (V) maj. dec. Brandon Uehling 17-4. 215: Jordan Helderman (N) pinned Will Mart 1:40. 285: Gerrit Heine (V) maj. dec. Aaron Wichman 11-2. VHS 36, Mitchell 27 103: Lakin Neugebauer (M) pinned Joey Mueller 0:33. 112: T.J. North (V) won by forfeit. 119: Skylar Neugebauer (M) pinned Tony Henderson 0:54. 125: Lance Burkhart (V) dec. Nick Kummer 2-0. 130: Jason Greenway (M) dec. Earl Kiertzner 6-2. 135: J.R. Moore (V) won by forfeit. 140: Ryan Buck (M) dec. Bennett Johnson 3-1. 145: Andrew Eidem (V) pinned Brent Havlik 1:47. 152: Brad Orr (V) pinned Chance Parr 2:41. 160: Austin Havlik (M) dec. Chris Mart 7-5. 171: Jordan Reiner (M) dec. Tanner Mart 4-2. 189: Kyle Larson (M) dec. Nick Mart 5-3. 215: Will Mart (V) dec. Wes McPherson 12-6. 285: Gerrit Heine (V) won by forfeit. VHS 66, West Central 9 103: Joey Mueller (V) won by forfeit. 112: T.J. North (V) won by forfeit. 119: Ted Reiner (WC) pinned Tony Henderson 5:12. 125: Lance Burkhart (V) tech. fall Justin Erichsen 3:39. 130: Earl Kiertzner (V) won by forfeit. 135: J.R. Moore (V) won by forfeit. 140: Bennett Johnson (V) won by forfeit. 145: Andrew Eidem (V) won by forfeit. 152: Tim Weber (WC) dec. Brad Orr 11-7. 160: Chris Mart (V) maj. dec. Zach Mettler 14-0. 171: Tanner Mart (V) won by forfeit. 189: Nick Mart (V) dec. Dylan Peterson 7-6. 215: Will Mart (V) won by forfeit. 285: Gerrit Heine (V) pinned Michael Kapperman 3:49. Canton 39, VHS 34 103: Alex Dayles (C) pinned Joey Mueller 1:20. 112: T.J. North (V) pinned Caleb Johnson 0:25. 119: Tyler Henderson (C) pinned Tony Henderson 1:41. 125: Logan Dolen (C) dec. Lance Burkhart 6-5. 130: Earl Kiertzner (V) pinned Kase Jacobs 2:59. 135: Parker Swanson (C) tech. fall J.R. Moore 4:18. 140: Jesse Peterson (C) maj. dec. Bennett Johnson 15-1. 145: Andrew Eidem (V) pinned Jake Kloster 0:46. 152: Kirby Bowyer (C) dec. Brad Orr 4-3. 160: Chris Mart (V) maj. dec. Alex Pinela 12-4. 171: Tanner Mart (V) pinned Jim Doyle 0:59. 189: Nick Mart (V) pinned Tanner Ovre 1:53. 215: Cameron Hayden (C) pinned Will Mart 1:21. 285: Austin Ovre (C) pinned Gerrit Heine 4:46.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>