USD Football announces 2008 team award winners

USD Football announces 2008 team award winners The University of South Dakota football team has announced its Team Awards Winners for the 2008 season. The winners were announced at the Team Awards Banquet held on Sunday, Feb. 1 on the USD campus. Quarterback Noah Shepard (Jr., Thornton, CO) was named the team��?s Most Valuable Player. Shepard set USD career records in total offense and passing yardage a year ago. Shepard threw for 2,000 yards and 15 touchdowns while rushing for 645 yards and a team-high 13 touchdowns. The Offensive Player of the Year was receiver Dan Skelly (Jr., Champlin, MN). Skelly caught 47 passes for 880 yards and nine touchdowns, all team highs. Byron Thomas (Sr., Palmdale, CA) was named the team��?s Defensive Player of the Year. Thomas led USD with 13 tackles for loss and seven sacks and also was fourth on the team in overall tackles at 47. Lucas Nordquist (Jr., Lake City) was named the Most Valuable Lineman. Nordquist was an anchor of a Coyote offensive line that helped the team rank in the top 10 in FCS in scoring, total offense and rushing offense. Ryan Routh (Jr., Sioux Falls) was named the Special Teams Player of the Year. Routh finished with 38 tackles in 2008. The Bulldog Award went to Tyler Spease (Sr., Rapid City). Spease, who came back from a devastating knee injury to start all 11 games in 2008, finished with 28 tackles and two interceptions. The Offensive Scout Award went to Marcus Sims (Fr., Brooklyn Park) while the Defensive Scout Award went to Tim Marlette (Fr., Sioux Falls). The Coaches��? Award was given to Brandon White (Sr., Chester) and Blake Hojer (Sr., DeSmet). White started all 11 games at tight end for USD, while Hojer led the Coyotes in tackles for a third straight year. Chris Ganious (RFr., Houston, TX) was named the Most Valuable Freshman. Ganious led USD with 792 rushing yards. USD Football 2008 Team Awards Henry Heider Most Valuable Player Award: Noah Shepard Dave Triplett Offensive Player of the Year: Dan Skelly Joe Salem Defensive Player of the Year: Byron Thomas Tim McFarland Most Valuable Lineman: Lucas Nordquist Harry Gamage Most Valuable Freshman Award: Chris Ganious Tim Mojzik Bulldog Award: Tyler Spease Beanie Cooper Special Teams Player of the Year: Ryan Routh Offensive Scout of the Year: Marcus Sims Defensive Scout of the Year: Tim Marlette Coaches Award: Brandon White/Blake Hojer

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>