Coyote track and field teams capture <br />Great West Conference Indoor Championships

Coyote track and field teams capture
Great West Conference Indoor Championships The University of South Dakota women's and men's track and field teams claimed the Great West Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships on Monday in the DakotaDome. The Coyote women finished the meet with a total of 271 points, topping second place Utah Valley University, which finished at 135 points. The South Dakota men came out on top with 178 points to better Utah Valley's score of 146.5. The Coyote women's team claimed 12 individual titles at the meet. Ramsey Fitzsimmons (Jr., Yankton) claimed three individual titles in the 1-mile, 3,000 meters and the 5,000 meters and was also part of the winning Distance Medley Relay team. Fitzsimmons was named the 2009 Female Athlete of the Year as a result of her efforts. Emma Erickson (So., Gayville) won both the 400 meters and 800-meters and was part of the winning DMR team. Amber Hegge (So., Crofton, NE) won a conference championship in the triple jump, long jump and high jump while Allie Smith (Sr., Wahpeton, ND) claimed the pentathlon title. The 4×400 relay team on Shaneka Parkes, Rose Brueske, Kris Dubois and Erickson claimed the title with a time of 3:53.34. Parkes (Sr., St. Ann, Jamaica) won the 200 dash with a time of 25.21. The Coyote men's team claimed four individual titles at the meet. In the first day of action Preston Scott (Sr., Parker) won the weight throw and then claimed titles during Monday's competition. The men's 4×400 team of Bill Lane, Jared Clement, Ben Oberle and Tyler Williamson won the title (3:22), while Dominic Artis (Jr., Brooklyn Park, MN) won the 200-meter dash with a time of 22.04. Cody Linder (Fr., Plattsmouth, NE) won the title at 46-10.25 Great West Conference Indoor Track and Field Championship Awards: GWC Female Newcomer of the Year: Brittane Gaines (Houston Baptist). GWC Women's Indoor Coach of the Year: Lucky Huber (South Dakota). 2009 Female Athlete of the Year: Ramsey Fitzsimmons (South Dakota). GWC Male Newcomer of the Year: Michael McPherson (Utah Valley). GWC Male Indoor Coach of the Year: Dave Gottsleben (South Dakota). 2009 Male Athlete of the Year: Michael McPherson (Utah Valley) Women's Highlights: Fitzsimmons won the 1-mile event with a time of 4:58.76, just missing the DakotaDome record by a second. Fitzsimmons claimed her fourth conference championship title of the weekend as she also won the 5,000 meters (17.29.93) on Monday. Erickson won both the 400-meter (56.68) and the 800-meter (2:17.40).  She was also a member of the winning 4×400 relay team and the DMR. Parkes won the 200-meter dash (25.21) while Jenessa Filler placed second (25.28). Heather Kuhlmann (Sr., Nebraska City, NE) finished second in the 5,000 meters with a time of 17:35.68 while Kelsey Maloney (Sr., Sioux Falls) earned fifth in the event (17:35.68). Maloney also placed seventh in the mile with a time of 5:21.53. Fitzsimmons also placed second (2:18.72) in the 800-meter run. Hegge (37-03.75) won the conference championship in the triple jump and the high jump (5-05.00) in Monday's action to add to her win in the long jump, which she captured on Sunday. Andrene Miller (Sr., Manchester, Jamaica) placed second in the 60 meter hurdles at 9.11 and also took fourth in the triple jump. Crystal Schiernbeck (9.15) placed third in the 60-meter hurdles. Alexa Duling (9.28) placed fourth in the 60-meter hurdles. Natalie Stout, Tia Hanes,and Ashlea Johnson placed fifth, sixth and seventh in the triple jump. Jasmine Mosley placed sixth while Danielle Dornbusch placed seventh in the shot put. Natalie Newman placed fifth (2:23.06) in the 800-meter run. Final Women's Team Scores: 1. South Dakota 271.002. Utah Valley 135.003. Texas-Pan American 87.004. North Dakota 77.005. Houston Baptist 69.006. New Jersey Inst. of Technology- 8.007. Chicago State 6.00. Men's Highlights: USD's 4×400 meter relay team of Bill Lane, Jared Clement, Ben Oberle and Tyler Williamson won the event with a time of 3:22.00. Cody Linder claimed the title in the triple jump with a jump of 46-10.25. USD's Jeff Sebern was third with a jump of 44.02.75. Ben Walters finished second in the shot put with a throw of 48-08.25. Houston Baptist's Jocques Robinson won the 60-meter dash while USD's Dominic Artis placed second (6.93) and Jeremy Blount (6.96) and Jared Clement placed (7.01) third and fourth. Artis was the champion of the 200-meter dash (22.04) while teammate Clement finished third (22.21). Ben Oberle (Jr., Vermillion) finished second (50.34) to Texas-Pan American's Jameson Strachan (49.96) in the 400-meter dash. Tane Owens finished third in the men's heptathlon with 4,241 points. HBU's Daniel Martinez won the one mile event while USD's Rob Gregoire placed 11th in the mile with a time of 4:35.89. Gregoire also finished eighth in the 3,000-meter run. Sean Fitzsimmons earned a seventh place finish in the 5000-meter run with a time of 15:33.32. Caleb Peters (9.02) and Corey Gross (9.19) placed seventh and eighth in the 60 meter hurdles. Tyler Williamson placed fourth (50.50) in the 400-meter dash while Bill Lane placed sixth (50.67) in the event. Final Men's Team Scores:1. South Dakota – 178.002. Utah Valley – 146.503. Texas-Pan American – 106.004. North Dakota – 86.505. Houston Baptist – 74.006. Chicago State – 32.007. New Jersey Institute of Technology – 30.00.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>