45th annual Junior Music Festival held

45th annual Junior Music Festival held About 80 young musicians participated in the 45th annual Junior Music Festival, sponsored by the Vermillion Music Club in conjunction with the National Federation of Music Clubs, held on March 21 at the Vermillion High School.  The young pianists played the grand piano in the auditorium, while the string players performed in the band room.  The festival organizers are very grateful to the high school administration and staff for their help and cooperation in arranging for this event.  Most of the participants, ages 5-17, are from the Vermillion/Yankton area, although this year we also had students from Milbank, Tea, Sioux Falls and Centerville. The following teachers had students playing in the festival: Susan Keith Gray, Kimberly Jacobson, Christy Kimball, Beth Mitchell, Karen Wearne, Janis Yarbrough, Karen Lipp, Sheila Dailie, and Amy Redhage. Each student performed two pieces of music from memory, one of which was a required selection and the other was a piece which the student and his/her teacher chose; a rating for the performance along with a written critique was given by the judge. The judge for the string performers this year was violinist Dr. Christopher Bonds of Wayne State College, Wayne, NE, where he has taught since 1982.  In addition, he was the Concert Master of the Sioux City Symphony for 22 years.   The piano students were judged by Mrs. Cheryl Tatro, a second year graduate student in piano performance at The University of South Dakota.  Mrs. Tatro received her bachelor's degree in music education from Briar Cliff University in 2007 and has been teaching piano since 2003. The following students received a superior rating in the piano solo event:  Adam Allgrunn, Lexi Allgrunn, Toria Andre,  Blaine Bottolfson, Kate Brockevelt, Jack Brown, Meghan Cameron, Dayjia Castillo, Cory Cordie, Taylor Davis, Sophia Dudley, Becca Ford, Nathan Ford, Anjie Ge, Anna Hackemer, Ellen Hanson, Marley Hanson, Andrew Heine, Regan Heine, Kevin Helenurm, Mark Helenurm, Morgan Herbster, Alex Janos, Grace Kjelden, Sam Konzem, Dana LeVan, Chance Lineberry, Aloknanda Manna-Ray, Gabryelle Massey, Kelsey Meadows, Michaela Metter, Nichole Metter, Morgan Parke, Kayla Peterson, Seth Phillips, McKayla Poppens, Natalie Poppens, Sowmya Ragothaman, Micah Rarick, Ryan Reiffenberger ,Megan Reitsma, Lexi Saunders, Kyle Schluttner, Stacy Schluttner, Ashley Schulz, Caitlyn Schwebach, Chrissy Sorensen, Kate Struckman-Johnson, Jenny Sun, Britney Sweeney, John Sweeney, Twila Sweeney, Anneliese Taggart, Sophia Taggart, Hannah Tawzer, Sam Tigert, Sydney Tigert, Abby Van Peursem, Joel Van Peursem, Luke Van Peursem, Emily VanDenHul, Anna VanHolland, Shinayne Whipple, and Dylan Workman.  Excellent rating for piano solo were given to: Jade Fostvedt, Michael LeVan, Alex Peters, and Wyatt Waage. Superior ratings in piano duet were awarded to Sophia Dudley and Dylan Workman, and Nichole and Michaela Metter. The following students received a superior rating for violin solos: Dakota Barnes, Kate Ehresmann, Brianna Johnson, Carmen Lipp, and Leah Waid,  Excellent ratings for violin solos were earned by David Redhage, Drew Taylor, and Sophia VanDenHul.  Janani Ragothaman received a very good rating in violin solo as well as comments in the violin concerto event.  In addition to receiving a rating and comments from the judge, participants can earn points every year based on the ratings they receive, and gold cups are then awarded to those earning the required number of points (15 points for a small cup, 30 points for a medium cup, and 45 points for a large cup).  This year 22 gold cups were awarded. Small gold cups for piano solos were earned by:  Kate Brockevelt, Jack Brown, Dayjia Castillo, Cory Cordie, Anna Hackemer, Marley Hanson, Kevin Helenurm, Dana LeVan, Aloknanda Manna-Ray, McKayla Poppens, Kyle Schluttner, Stacy Schluttner, Ashley Schulz, Caitlyn Schwebach, Britney Sweeney, Anneliese Taggart, Sophia Taggart, Anna VanHolland, Shinayne Whipple. Micah Rarick, and Emily VanDenHul earned large gold cups for piano solo. Kate Ehresmann earned a medium gold cup in the violin solo event. Thanks to the judges, members of the Vermillion Music Club who worked to put on this Festival (Esther Knutson, Solveig Korte and Mary Sorensen as well as Sarah Chadima and Carolyn Johnson) and to the teachers who encourage their students to participate.  For further information about the Junior Music Festival or the Vermillion Music Club, contact Carolyn Johnson at 624-4233, or Sarah Chadima 624-6745.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>