Muenster will be inducted<br />to South Dakota Hall of Fame

Muenster will be inducted
to South Dakota Hall of Fame Theodore Muenster, Vermillion, is well known in a variety of arenas.  One perhaps is in government for his exceptional service as chief of staff during Gov. Kneip's administration: l970-74.  He was also instrumental in beginning the four year medical school at USD, (it was just two years) which transformed healthcare and the economy and encouraged graduates to remain in family practice in South Dakota. His greatest contribution to education is likely when he was president of the University of South Dakota Foundaton and orchestrated USD's "Campaign South Dakota" doubling the goal to $134 million in 2006.  The above was taken from the short biography submitted with his application form.  Others who will be inducted to the hall of fame include: Sioux Falls: Henry Carlson Jr., Jon Soderholm, Bill Doughtery, Dr. Franklin Alvine, J. Bruce Blake, Tom Walsh;  Rapid City: Rev. Herbert Cleveland, John Loucks, (deceased); Pierre: Nancy Koupal, Sam Holland, Dorothy Howe,; Yankton: Mother Jerome Schmitt (deceased); Canton: Carol Regier; and Bart Blum, Reliance.  The South Dakota Hall of Fame recognizes those individuals who have contributed to the growth and development of South Dakota in one of more than 15 categories.  The Hall of Fame was established in 1974.  Over 600 South Dakotans have been selected for recognition by the Hall of Fame.  The induction will be help in Pierre, on Sept. 10 and 11.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>