Retired teachers honor essay winners

Retired teachers honor essay winners The Vermillion Southeast Area Retired Teachers Association met on Wednesday, May 13 at the Vermillion Public Library to honor new retirees. President Pat Dusseau introduced the three local winners of the AARP's grandparent essay contest. The students read their essays. Alikah Sasse, first place, Joe Miller, second place, and Sophia Taggert, third place. Alikah won first place in the state contest and won a $500 savings bond. Jolley School received a plaque. Brenda Martens, Donna Schafer, Pat Dusseau, Pat Michaels, and Edith Siegrist represented the unit at the South Dakota Retired Teachers Association convention held in Pierre on April 27 and 28. Brenda won an award as Outstanding Service and Edith won an award for Reminiscent Teacher at the 2009 convention. Retirees from the Vermillion schools and area are Cheryl Lessmann, Virginia Talley, Joyce Zimmer and Joyce Zimmerman. Donna and David Fischer of Yankton and Dan Mart were guests, as well as parents and grandparents of the essay winners. Donna is the SDRTA secretary. Dan teaches fifth grade at Jolley and has two of the essay winners as students.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>