USD women�s basketball to face SDSU in 2009-10

USD womenâ�?�?s basketball to face SDSU in 2009-10 Ryun Williams, head women's basketball coach at The University of South Dakota, and South Dakota State women's basketball coach Aaron Johnston have announced that the Coyotes and Jackrabbits will play on Monday, Feb. 15, 2010 at 7 p.m. in Brookings. It marks the renewal of a long-standing rivalry between the two in-state programs, who have competed against each other since 1971 and previously in the Division II North Central Conference. "Renewing this rivalry in women's basketball is great news for the state of South Dakota," USD Director of Athletics Joel Nielsen said. "USD-SDSU has been one of the best rivalries in college athletics and it's exciting for fans of both institutions." "This is a great thing for South Dakota basketball," Williams said.  "It will give us a good indication of where we are at and where we need to go. It will be a great environment for our kids to compete in and a fun game for all involved." The last time USD and SDSU women's basketball teams faced each other was in the 2003-04 season.  The two teams played twice that season as the Jacks won both contests by scores of 99-83 and 61-58.  SDSU holds a 37-21 lead in the series. This game will mark the first game between the two rival schools since SDSU started its Division I transition in 2004. USD will be entering its second season of its transition to Division I status in 2009-10. The Coyote women's basketball team finished last season with an overall record of 18-11 as a Division I transitional institution.  The Yotes will return three starters from last season's squad (Jasmine Mosley, Annie Roche and Kara Iverson) and will add redshirts, Amber Hegge, Jackie Hiebert and Teresa Case. The SDSU women will be coming off a historic year as they made an appearance in the NCAA Tournament and finished with an overall record of 32-3 while being ranked as high as 15th in the USA Today/ESPN coaches' poll.  SDSU won its second consecutive Summit League regular season title and claimed the league's postseason tournament title. USD is currently a member of the Great West Conference whose members include, University of Texas Pan American, Utah Valley University, North Dakota, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Houston Baptist and Chicago State. The University of South Dakota accepted an invitation into the Summit League in April of 2009 and will begin league competition in 2011-12.  Current members of the Summit League include; South Dakota State, North Dakota State, Centenary, IPFW, IUPUI, UMKC, Oakland, Oral Roberts, Southern Utah and Western Illinois.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>