Junior Achievement of Vermillion announces new board

Junior Achievement of Vermillion announces new board Junior Achievement of Vermillion is proud to announce that Layne Stewart, Clay County Emergency Management, is serving as board chair for 2009-2010.  Alexis Tracy, Union County state's attorney office, is the board secretary. Two new board members were recently elected, including: John Prescott, city of Vermillion, and Casey Robb, Walmart. Other members serving on the board include: Dr. Mark Froke, Vermillion School District; Chris Girard, Headstart; John Hemmingstad, Small Business Development Center; Kari Jensen, Vermillion Middle School; Dr. Jerry Johnson, USD; Farron Pratt, First Dakota National Bank; Paul Preister, Bank of the West; Ric Rasmussen, Rasmussen Motors; and Dr. Mel Ustad, SD Department of Tourism and State Development. The Junior Achievement of Vermillion board was established in 2004. Eighteen JA volunteers from the Vermillion business community entered 16 public and private classrooms during the 2008-09 school year. These classroom volunteers served as role models and taught 295 students about personal finance, entrepreneurship, and work readiness using hands-on activities to supplement standard classroom curricula.  In addition, 15 executive-level volunteers impacted 382 Vermillion High School students with ethics education through a new program, JA Excelling through Ethics.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>