USD Swimming, Diving to join Summit League

USD Swimming, Diving to join Summit League The University of South Dakota has accepted an invitation to join The Summit League as an associate member in the sport of men's and women's swimming and diving, Summit League Commissioner Tom Douple and the President's Council announced. USD will begin competing in The Summit League's swimming and diving program in 2009-10, culminating in an appearance at the 2010 Summit League Swimming and Diving Championships in Indianapolis, Ind. The Coyotes will also be eligible for The Summit League weekly awards and academic honors immediately.  The Summit League President's Council voted at their most recent meetings to extend an associate membership invitation to the University of South Dakota in swimming and diving.  "We are delighted to add the University of South Dakota as an associate member in men's and women's swimming and diving," Commissioner Douple said. "The University of South Dakota will enhance the Championships with additional participants, coaches and spectators."  USD competed last year in the Northern Sun Swimming and Diving Championships in Omaha, Neb. Prior to its independent competition, the Coyotes were part of the Division II North Central Conference.  "I'd like to thank The Summit League leadership and member institutions for this decision," USD Director of Athletics Joel Nielsen said. "This will provide more than 50 student-athletes at USD with a championship opportunity in an established Division I league."  "This is a great chance for our swimmers and divers to showcase their abilities at the next level. We are also very excited to be the team that is leading the university into The Summit League," USD swimming and diving coach Jason Mahowald said. "We hope that we can give all the schools in the league a glimpse of what USD is all about."  The Summit League is comprised of 10 member institutions – Centenary College of Louisiana, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW), Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI), University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Oral Roberts University, South Dakota State University, Southern Utah University and Western Illinois University.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>