Jepsen awarded three scholarships at SDSU

Shannon Marie Jepsen of Meckling was awarded the Stephen F. Briggs Family Scholarship, Girls State Scholarship and Superior Academic Scholarship for the 2009-2010 school year at South Dakota State University.

 Jepsen is an incoming freshman majoring in pre-medicine at SDSU this fall. She is the daughter of Scott and Jeanne Jepsen of Meckling and is a 2009 graduate of the Vermillion High School, where she was active in show choir, Young Democrats, student council, drama, choir, Environmental Team, track, cross country, band (marching, concert and pep), Summer German Exchange Program, National Honor Society, 4-H Junior Leaders (president 2007), Meckling Livestock 4-H Club, HOBY (staff – junior ambassador), UCC youth group/confirmation, Farm Service Ag. Youth Loan Program, tutoring/mentoring, freshman girl's basketball/junior varsity, Concordia Language Village, Shadowed Hematech Inc., Shadowed Yankton Animal Health Clinic and Girls State (2008 delegate).

Stephen Briggs, a 1907 electrical engineering graduate of SDSU, established the Stephen F. Briggs Scholarship.  While still at State, he designed an experimental gasoline engine as a class project.  That engine led to the development of the first engines manufactured by the Briggs and Stratton Corporation of which Briggs was chairman of the board and president.

He was also a founder and chairman of the board of the Outboard Motor Corporation which manufactured Evinrude engines.  In 1936, the firm was merged with Johnson Motor Company to form the Outboard Marine Manufacturing Company.  He was chairman of the board for the company until 1963 and was active as a consultant for many years after that.

In 1956, Briggs received an honorary doctorate in engineering from SDSU and in 1961 was cited as a Distinguished Alumnus.  Stephen F. Briggs died in 1976.

Superior Academic Scholarships are awarded to incoming freshmen that have demonstrated strong academic achievements, extracurricular involvement and leadership skills.

Girls State Scholarships are awarded to incoming freshmen that have been an elected officer at S.D. Girls State.

Founded in 1881, South Dakota State University is the state's Morrill Act land-grant institution as well as its largest, most comprehensive school of higher education. SDSU confers degrees from seven different colleges representing more than 200 majors, minors and options. The institution also offers 23 master's degree programs and 12 Ph.D. programs.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>