Rusch reappointed first circuit judge

Chief Justice David Gilbertson recently reappointed the Honorable Arthur L. Rusch as Presiding Judge, First Judicial Circuit.  Judge Rusch has presided over the First Circuit since his appointment by Chief Justice Robert A. Miller in 1995.  Judge Rusch has been a circuit court judge since 1994 and was Chairman of the Presiding Judges from 1995 to 1997.

Pursuant to Article V, Section 11 of the South Dakota Constitution, Presiding Judges are appointed by the Chief Justice and serve at his pleasure.  The Presiding Judges are administrative heads of their respective circuits.  In a letter to Judge Rusch, the Chief Justice expressed his appreciation for his willingness to serve the Unified Judicial System and people of South Dakota in this manner.  Judge Rusch's reappointment is effective Sept. 16.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>