Legion announces Boys and Girls State delegates

Vermillion American Legion Post #1 and Legion Auxiliary have announced the selection of delegates for Boys and Girls State 2010.  Girls chosen to represent Vermillion are Elly Melby, Janani Ragothaman, Lindsay Robinet, Carlee Sorenson, Amber Walker and Sarah Szmonski (Journalism City).  The boys chosen are Kevin Callahan, Tony Henderson, Blaine Hubert, Benjamin Kozak, Doug Kronaizl, Eric Storm, Dexter Mehlhaf, Thomas (Carson) Sullivan and Alex Card (Journalism City).  Mathew Martin is being sponsored by the Alsen Legion.  These young people have demonstrated very definite leadership skills in their school and community activities and each has earned a scholastic ranking that places them in the upper third of their class.  "During the selection process, all delegates demonstrated outstanding qualifications in character, honesty, service, and initiative," said Ray Hofman, Legion Americanism Officer, "and American Legion Post #1and Legion Auxiliary are proud to have these young people represent Vermillion at the 2010 Boys and Girls State session."

 American Legion Boys and Girls State is among the most respected and selective educational programs of government instruction for high school students.  It is a participatory program where each participant becomes a part of the operation of his local, county, and state government.  Boys and Girls State has been a program of the American Legion since 1935.   
South Dakota Boys and Girls State will run from May 31 to June 4, and will be held on the campus of Northern State University for the boys and The University of South Dakota for the girls.

 Donations from the Eagles, Lions, Rotary, Civic Council, VFW, Knights of Columbus and Masons have helped sponsor the students.  
For more information please call Ray Hofman at 624-6457 or by email using rhofman@vyn.midco.net

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>