Races for aldermen, mayor are finalized in Vermillion

Vermillion voters will go to the polls June 8 to elect a new mayor and one alderman to represent each of the city's four wards.

The final outcome of the local races took shape at 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 30, the deadline for filing nominating petitions for the municipal election.

Mayor Dan Christopherson, who was elected to that office in 2005, has decided not to seek another term. Seeking to fill that upcoming vacancy are Northwest Ward Alderman John (Jack) Powell, who is currently the city council's vice president. Powell will be challenged in June's municipal election by Nick (Tick) Severson.

Northeast Ward Alderman Kent Osborne has filed petitions to seek another term. He is being challenged by James D. Hoefelmeyer.

Mary Edelen, city council incumbent from the Central Ward, is also seeking re-election. She will be campaigning against John Grayson, who has filed petitions to become a candidate for election to the office Edelen currently holds.

Tom Davies, a former member of the city council, has decided to seek another term representing the Northwest Ward.  Also campaigning to be alderman from that ward Jim Wilson.

Residents of the Southeast Ward will have three candidates from which to choose. Incumbent Alderman Ray Hofman is not seeking re-election, and hoping to represent the ward on the city council are Kenneth (Andy) Anderson, John Erikson, and Dennis Zimmerman, a former member of the city council.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>