Free antlerless deer licenses available in some areas

South Dakota resident landowners still have several options available to purchase a 2010 East River Deer or West River Deer license before the season opens, including some units where free antlerless licenses are available.

South Dakota residents who own, or lease and operate, a minimum of 160 acres of land for agricultural purposes are eligible for these licenses. In addition, immediate family members (spouse, children living at home, and children who live on the land) are eligible.

Up to two free antlerless deer permits are available to a farm or ranch unit in any county  with licenses remaining after the second drawing for West River Deer and East River Deer seasons. The licenses are available by application through the Game, Fish and Parks License Office. Both licenses may be issued to the same individual or to different eligible individuals living in the household.

For West River Deer, all units have free antlerless licenses available except Shannon County.

For East River Deer, free antlerless deer licenses may be issued for every unit except, Codington, Brookings, Grant, Hutchinson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Moody, Roberts  and Yankton Counties.

Qualifying landowners may also purchase a reduced-price license valid for their land only. A one-tag "any deer" license is available for $20, and a two-tag "any deer plus antlerless deer" license is available for $25.

Information on these license options is available online.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>