4-H Character Counts! recognizes club support

BROOKINGS � The South Dakota 4-H CHARACTER COUNTS! program is recognizing the county clubs who supported their 2010 Focus on Character project.

Twenty counties participated in the Focus on Character project across South Dakota from November 2009 through July 2010. The counties included Clay, Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Codington, Custer, Davison, Edmunds, Grant, Haakon, Jackson, Hughes, Stanley, Hutchinson, Kingsbury, Lake, Lawrence, Marshall, Minnehaha, Moody and Sanborn.

Ninety-three character community service projects were completed with more than 1,100 4-H members taking part. Those volunteers provided more than 2,300 hours of community service to their local communities. The number of community service hours reported increased by 58 percent compared to 2009.

Participating 4-H clubs were asked to focus on one of the Six Pillars of Character � trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring and citizenship � and then conduct a �character� community-service project for three of the Pillars. Clubs returned reports that indicated their club activities and how it changed their world.

Six Character Champion Donors supported the South Dakota 4-H CHARACTER COUNTS! Project. Each donor has selected, from the Six Pillars of Character, the pillar they feel best represents their businesses. The 4-H CHARACTER COUNTS! sponsors include:

First Bank & Trust of Brookings � Trustworthiness Pillar

South Dakota Corn Utilization Council � Respect Pillar

Touchtone Energy Electric Cooperatives of SD � Responsibility Pillar

Avera Health System � Caring Pillar

Karelyn Farrand, state coordinator for South Dakota 4-H CHARACTER COUNTS! said that the Fairness and Citizenship Pillars are currently vacant.

Businesses that would be interested in sponsoring these parts of the project can call Farrand at 605-626-7120.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>