Clay County Clerk of Courts retiring

Robin Iverson, Clay County clerk of courts, will be retiring effective Jan. 7, 2011, after working with the clerk of courts office for more than 35 years.

A reception in her honor will be held from 2-4 p.m. on Jan. 7, 2011, in the lower level meeting room of the Clay County Courthouse.

First hired as a deputy court clerk in 1975, Iverson was appointed as the clerk of courts for Clay County by 1st Circuit Presiding Judge Arthur Rusch on Jan. 1, 2000.

Jessica Bosse of rural Vermilion has been appointed by Rusch as the new Clay County clerk of courts. Bosse has worked as a deputy court clerk for more than 13 years in both the Union County and Clay County clerks� offices. She is a graduate of Wakonda High School, and received her Bachelor of Science degree in criminal justice from the University of South Dakota.

In a press release, Rusch said he is confident in his appointment of Bosse due to her years of experience and her past record of accomplishment.

Rusch also extended his thanks to Iverson for her dedicated service to the Unified Judicial System and the courts in Clay County over the past 35 years. He said he had worked with Iverson when he was Clay County�s states attorney, as an attorney in private practice and as a circuit judge, and always found her to be unfailingly helpful and friendly to everyone coming into the clerk of court�s office.

The clerk of courts is responsible for managing the clerk of courts� office, which maintains all records and files of the court system in Clay County. This includes all civil, criminal, probate and traffic files, as well as a staff of three. In addition, as a chief magistrate, the clerk of court can perform weddings, set bonds, issue arrest and search warrants and hold court on petty offenses and certain misdemeanors.

The office is located on the third floor of the Clay County Courthouse in Vermillion.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>