Tanager grapplers split pair of duals

Vermillion eighth-grader Brandon Hertz gets the pin against Lennox. The Tanagers opened the year with a home triangular on Tuesday. Vermillion lost to Brandon Valley 57-15, but beat Lennox 54-18. (Photo by Justin Rust)

Sending to the mat a varsity starting lineup featuring four eighth graders, two freshmen and only five upperclassmen, Vermillion's wrestling Tanagers split a pair of season-opening duals at the VHS gym Tuesday night.

In a 54-18 win over Lennox, the Tanagers won three of the five matches actually wrestled. Vermillion was the benefactor of six weight classes in which Lennox offered no opposition, the Tanagers were open at one weight themselves, and neither team had a wrestler at 103 and 152 pounds.Vermillion won three matches, forfeited at three weights and dropped eight matches in a 57-15 loss to Brandon Valley.

Eighth-grader Brandon Hertz scored a pin in 1:57 at 140 pounds in the Lennox win. Senior Dexter Mehlhaf won by pin in 3:52 of his 160-pound clash. Senior Jake Knutson added an exclamation point to the evening when he pinned his 285-pound foe in 1:19.

In the Brandon Valley dual eighth-grader Brett Bye took only 56 seconds to pin his 112-pound opponent. Junior Josh Callahan gained three more team points for the Tanagers with an 8-4 decision at 119. Will Mart's pin in only 39 seconds at 215 pounds accounted for Vermillion's other team points.

The Tanagers' first tournament of the year comes up Saturday when they compete at Roosevelt's invitational in Sioux Falls starting at 9 a.m. Next Tuesday Vermillion joins Madison at Tea for a pair of duals.

VHS 54, Lennox 18

103: No match.112: Brett Bye (V) won by forfeit.

119: Josh Callahan (V) won by forfeit.

125: Sineway Marshall (V) won by forfeit.

130: Regan Bye (V) won by forfeit.

135: Brenden Raizola (V) won by forfeit.

140: Brandon Hertz (V) pinned Colby Reynolds, 1:57.

145: Alex Osborne (V) won by forfeit.

152: No match.

160: Dexter Mehlhaf (V) pinned Tracy Halouska, 3:52.

171: Trevor Cartner (L) pinned Seth Heine, 0:17.

189: Chris Plucker (L) won by forfeit.

215: Austin Lynde (L) pinned Will Mart, 3:33.

285: Jake Knutson (V) pinned T.J. Harrington, 1:19.

Brandon Valley 57, VHS 15

103: Adam Presler (BV) won by forfeit.

112: Brett Bye (V) pinned John Thelen, 0:56.

119: Josh Callahan (V) dec. Spencer Heidbrink, 8-4.

125: Braden Heidbrink (BV) pinned Sineway Marshall, 1:41.

130: Ryan Angerhofer (BV) dec. Regan Bye, 10-5.

135: Wyatt Winter (BV) dec. Brenden Raizola, 5-3.

140: Mason Bender (BV) pinned Brandon Hertz, 3:41.

145: Nate Monger (BV) pinned Alex Osborne, 5:05.

152: Collin Wible (BV) won by forfeit.

160: Calvin Ode (BV) pinned Dexter Mehlhaf, 1:40.

171: Gabe Langner (BV) pinned Seth Heine, 1:38.

189: Dakota Collins (BV) won by forfeit.

215: Will Mart (V) pinned Cole Reiter, 0:39.

285: Victor Frazer (BV) dec. Jake Knutson, 9-8.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>