Rolfe, Stoddard lead swimming & diving team past MSU Mankato

Juniors Terry Rolfe and Thad Stoddard each won two events to propel the South Dakota men�s swimming and diving team to a 130-100 win over Minnesota State, Mankato in a dual Saturday in Mankato, Minn. The Coyotes, who won 10 events on the day, improved to 2-4 in duals this season with the win.

Rolfe (Newcastle, Wyo.) was also part of two winning relay teams, while Stoddard (Douglas, Wyo.) was also part of a winning relay. Rolfe won the 200 IM with a time of 1:57.15 and then posted a strong win in the 100 freestyle at 48.39. Stoddard won the 200 freestyle at 1:46.07 and added a win in the 100 backstroke at 52.21.

Several Coyotes had strong days in the win as well.

Junior Dane Van Arkel (Colorado Springs, Colo.), who was part of two winning relays as well, recorded a win in the 50 freestyle, posting a winning time of 22.44. Sophomore Cody Horton (Mitchell, S.D.) won the 500 freestyle at 5:00.09, with junior teammate Matthew Weyer (Taos, N.M.) taking second at 5:01.30. Weyer won the 1,000 freestyle at 10:18.97.

Junior Chris Hause (Overland Park, Kan.) won the 3-meter diving at 304.35.

South Dakota�s 200 medley relay, consisting of Stoddard, senior Bridger Miller (Upton, Wyo.), sophomore Drew Guinan (Blair, Neb.) and Van Arkel, was victorious at 1:38.63.

South Dakota also won the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 3:16.19. That consisted of Rolfe, senior Andrew Cahalan (Winterset, Iowa), junior Gabe Sands (Greeley, Colo) and Van Arkel.

The next meet is at 6 p.m. tonight (Friday) at the DakotaDome pool against South Dakota State.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>