Vermillion wins S.D. Regional Science Bowl

Vermillion High School won the South Dakota Regional Science Bowl Saturday at the Huron Event Center. Team members are Alex Larson, Alexander Card, Cassidy Donahue, Kristine Zolud and Sam Jensen. Jake Terry is the coach. (Photo by Roger Kasa/Huron Daily Plainsman)

Vermillion High School went through the competition unbeaten to win the 18th annual South Dakota Regional Science Bowl held Saturday in the Huron Event Center.

This was the first win for Vermillion since 2002. The team members are Alex Larson, Alexander Card, Cassidy Donahue, Kristine Zolud and Sam Jensen. Jake Terry is the coach.

Vermillion came out of the preliminary rounds in the morning with a 3-0 record. Other unbeaten records were Rapid City Central No. 1 and 2, Rapid City Stevens, Aberdeen Central No. 1 and 2, Northwestern and Brandon Valley No. 2.

Vermillion coach Terry said his group meets every Thursday for 30 to 45 minutes to examine a trivia booklet that included many of the questions that will be asked.

He said the students who participate usually are the ones who are really interested.

Terry, who teaches physics at Vermillion, said he was proud of the students performance.

After the 19 teams were parred to eight, the final round began. In the first round, Aberdeen No. 1 defeated Aberdeen Central No. 2, 128-58; Vermillion defeated Rapid Central No. 2, 122-30; Northwestern beat Rapid City Stevens, 86-62; and Rapid City Central No. 1 defeated Brandon Valley No. 2, 76-54.

In the semifinals, Vermillion won over Aberdeen Central No. 1, 94-70 and Rapid City Central No. 1 clipped Northwestern, 104-54.

The consolation round had Aberdeen Central defeating Rapid City Central, 48-46 and Rapid City Stevens defeating Brandon Valley No. 2, 110-44.

The next consolation round found Aberdeen Central beating Northwestern, 80-34, and Aberdeen Central No. 1 defeating R.C. Stevens, 62-30.

In the consolation semifinals, Aberdeen Central No. 1 defeated Aberdeen No. 2, 78-62 and Rapid City Central No. 1 lost to Aberdeen Central No. 1, 96-66.

That set the stage for the final round and Vermillion beat Aberdeen Central, No. 1, 88-40 to win the title.

Don McCleary of Western Area Power Administration asked the questions in the final round.

The WAPA committee that plans the event is led by Carol Milbrandt and Lesley Berg.

Milbrandt said 19 teams entered the competition. A second Webster team dropped out at the last minute. The Douglas team didnt come because of the death of the coach.

She said NorthWestern Energy employees also help with the event.

Other committee members, along with Milbrandt and Berg, are Kevin Schultz, Ronda Price, Trevor Howard, Gayleen Lowe, Tom Borkowski and Randy Diede.

The second place Aberdeen Central No. 1 team included Janet Palmer, Mitch McIntire, Ashley Miller, Mike Van Beek and coach Lance Hepper. The third place Rapid City Central No. 1 team was made up of Michael Slabeck, coach, Lander Solon, Alex Rensch, Sam Carroll, Amanda Reeves and Ken Umentum.

Hurons team, which finished tenth in the competition, was made up of Danae Schaefers, Arthur Hines, Adrian DelGrosso and Halle Halbkat. The coach is Lindsey Brewer. The last time Huron won the event was in 2000. Before that, Huron took home the title in 2001 and 1999.

The Hitchcock-Tulare team, who finished in 15th place, consisted of Erika Roeber, Geoff Price, Kara Brock and Alex Roeber. The coach was Kurt Schulz.

The winning Vermillion team will advance to the National contest to be held in Chevy Chase, MD, April 28-May 3.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>