Vermillion Standard Time places first

On Tuesday, March 8, Vermillion Standard Time won first place in Class A at the Jazz On The Upper Great Plains Festival.  The even was held at Augustana College in Sioux Falls. 

The band performed, �The Red Bank Express� by Doug Beach, �A Gentle Touch� by Paul Clark and �The Next Big Thing� by Bret Zvacek.  All seven soloist for the band received Outstanding Soloist Awards including Will Card, guitar; Dan Hargadine, trumpet; Dan Bellis, tenor sax; Bennett Lamplot, piano; Joe Swanson, alto sax; Alex Hodges, bass; and Paul Granaas, trumpet. 

Standard Time will also be performing at the USD Coyote Jazz Festival on March 17, and the Northeast Jazz Festival in Norfolk, NE on March 29. The director of Vermillion Standard time is John Alpers.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>