SDPB Radio dominates 2011 Murrow Awards

South Dakota Public Broadcasting Radio�s staff has earned nine of 12 regional 2011 Edward R. Murrow awards for reporting, including the coveted �Overall Excellence� award. The awards, presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association, are among the most prestigious journalism honors in the country.

�This reflects the outstanding journalism we bring to the people of South Dakota every day,� said Joe Tlustos, SDPB director of radio. �Our news producers are devoted to fairness, accuracy and quality.�

The awards are named after one of America�s greatest journalists, Edward R. Murrow, who rose to worldwide prominence for his courageous reporting during WW II. SDPB Radio earned the awards in the �Radio, Small Market� category in competition with public and commercial radio stations in Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota and South Dakota. The awards include:

� Overall Excellence

� Continuing Coverage: 2010 Flooding � Jenifer Jones and Jackelyn Severin.

� Feature Reporting: Black Hills Lion Capture � Charles Michael Ray

� Reporting, Hard News: Cheyenne River Blizzard Recovery � Charles Michael Ray

� Investigative Reporting: Red Flag Landslide � Charles Michael Ray

� News Series: Reservation Suicide Epidemic � Jim Kent

� Sports Reporting: Women's Football Clinic � Gary Ellenbolt

� Use of Sound: Jewel (Cave) Past 150 � Charles Michael Ray

� Writing: Novel Writers � Vicky Wicks

To listen to the stories, go to, click on �2011 Winners!� at the top left, click on Region 4, go to �Radio, Small Market,� and follow the links for each winning story.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>