30 students receive Dakota Corps Scholarships

Thirty recent South Dakota high school graduates have been awarded Dakota Corps scholarships to pursue careers in critical-need occupations within the state.

Each year, Dakota Corps recipients receive funding equivalent to the cost of tuition and applicable fees at their postsecondary institution. Once graduated, they are required to enter into a critical-need occupation in South Dakota, with terms of service equivalent to the number of years they received the scholarship, plus one year. The scholarships are supported entirely by private donations.

�I congratulate these students for choosing careers in critical-need occupations,� said Gov. Dennis Daugaard. �I also want to thank all of those private businesses and nonprofit organizations that are funding these scholarships. This is a program that not only educates our students, but also keeps them in South Dakota after graduation and provides the brainpower that is essential for these critical-need occupations.�

Current occupations that qualify for Dakota Corps Scholarship support include teaching K-12 music, special education, or foreign language; teaching high school math or science; working as a licensed practical nurse, registered nurse, or in other allied health-care fields; or working as a large-animal veterinarian.

The South Dakota Board of Regents recently assumed administrative responsibility for the Dakota Corps Scholarship program. For more information, contact the board office at 1-800-874-9033 or send an e-mail to info@sdbor.edu.

This is a listing of the 30 students who are new Dakota Corps Scholarship recipients for the 2011-12 academic year, sorted by the postsecondary institution where they will be enrolled. The list also includes the student�s hometown and high school attended.

Augustana College

Anna Peasley, Elk Point, Elk Point-Jefferson High School

Black Hills State University

Michael Birkeland, Rapid City, Central High School; Trisha Koch, Owanka, New Underwood High School

Mount Marty College

Gina Dethlefsen, Stickney, Stickney High School

Northern State University

Olivia Forman, Watertown, Watertown High School; Christine Hickel, Watertown, Watertown High School; Alyssa Becht, Clear Lake, Deuel High School; Tyler Goodgion, Rapid City, Central High School; Megan Czmowski, Black Hawk, Central High School

Presentation College

Angela Goodall, Westport, Frederick Area High School

South Dakota State University

Emily McMahon, Hartford, West Central High School; Hayley Townsend, Sioux Falls, Roosevelt High School; Alexis Ness, Waubay, Waubay High School; Jerrica Huber, Yankton, Yankton High School; Kortney Weems, Sioux Falls, Roosevelt High School; Brianna Benson, Sisseton, Sisseton High School; Kelsey Richter, Quinn, Wall High School

 University of Sioux Falls

Brooke Hemmer, Dell Rapids, Colman-Egan High School

University of South Dakota

Brianna Youngstrom, Armour, Wagner Community High School; Austin Wagaman, Sioux Falls, Washington High School; Kaylee Bahr, Aberdeen, Central High School; Katey Ulrich, Watertown, Watertown High School; Kyle DeLay, Beresford, Beresford High School; Kathryn Whisler, Sioux Falls, Washington High School; Abbey Ulrich, Watertown, Watertown High School; Emma Smith, Huron, Huron High School; Brittany Dilts, Canton, Canton High School; Benjamin Nelson, Sioux Falls, Roosevelt High School; Rebecca Hebda, Mission Hill, Yankton High School; Wyman Wenz, Britton, Britton-Hecla High School

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>