USD students honored for spring academic success

Students receiving academic honors for the 2011Spring Semester have been recognized at The University of South Dakota.

More than 1,850 students were honored for academic achievements this spring with 1,445 students named to the Dean�s List and 391 part-time students cited with Academic Recognition honors.

Students earn Dean�s List distinction by achieving a GPA of at least 3.5 while maintaining a course load of 12 or more credit hours with no incomplete or failing grades. Part-time students are eligible for Academic Recognition by completing at least 12 hours prior to the current semester earning a minimum of three and up to 11 credit hours during the term and achieving a GPA of at least 3.5 with no failing or incomplete grades.

Additionally, 14 students enrolled at the School of Law attained Dean�s List recognition. To be named to the School of Law Dean�s List, law students must achieve either a GPA of 85.00 or greater for that semester or rate in the top 10 percent of their class for that semester, whichever group is smaller. The list is not based on cumulative grade point average, and first semester, first-year law students are not eligible for the law school�s Dean�s List.

The South Dakota Board of Regents sets the policy for Dean�s List eligibility. For more information on the Board of Regents policy, please see

Students receiving academic honors for the 2011 spring semester from Vermillion and surrounding communities are listed below.

Beresford – Stephanie F Carnes, Nathan D. Glanzer, Hunter W Glascock, Cassandra D Goeden, Evan S. Hanson, Joanie Hinds (academic recognition), Amy C Jensen (academic recognition), Amy C Jensen (academic recognition), Caleb M Lyle, Zach Orr, Elizabeth Soderborg, Timothy Taylor (academic recognition); Burbank – Jessica R Anderson, Josh Baldwin, Kim R. Miller (academic recognition), Laurie Siegel; Centerville – Courtney a Blake, Rachel A. Blake, Kelsey P Brue, Molly A Hansen, Alicia S Johnson (academic recognition); Dakota Dunes – Ian J Berens, Chandler A. Hunt, Molly E Long, Rich Michaelson, Tony J Teesdale; Elk Point – Darlene M. Bogenpohl (academic recognition), Nick T Bottger, Isaiah N Cloud, Amanda Connelly, Derrick R Debuhr, Molly Donnelly, Rhyannon Gonzalo (academic recognition), Hillary A. Howard, Alisha Limoges (academic recognition), Kayla McInerney, Brandon J. Moore, Kale Nelson, Vanessa L. Nelson, Nicola A. Obeney, Nicola A. Obeney, Adrian P Ries, Adrian P Ries, Emily K. Rosenbaum, Melissa J. Sadler (academic recognition), Ben Staum; Gayville – Zach Blasy, Melissa L Dittberner, Emma O Erickson (academic recognition), Heather Wardle; Hurley – Chris Boyd (academic recognition), Abby Harmon, Jordan L. Hintz (academic recognition), Alex R. Rasmussen, Sharon Wegner (academic recognition); Irene – Brittney Bakke; Jefferson – Luke C Frankl, Steven N. Harding, Lori A. Hixson, Brittany J McKinven, Amber Nearman, Collin P. Viereck; McCook Lake – Heather M Morales, Blake A Gunderson, Cassie M Long, Darci Youngstrom; Mission Hill – Eric D Aune, Amy M. Braunesreither, Mitch Yaggie; North Sioux City – Andrew J. Finzen, Nicole J. Funck, Alyssa Limke, Ben Verdoorn, Ashley M. White; Vermillion – Marta S. Adamczyk, Rosie R Ahmed, Catherine M Alm (academic recognition), Megan M Amundson, Carrie N. Anderson, Ryan Angelo, Stephanie K. Arkfeld, Jennifer E. Ashley (academic recognition), Ryan C. Austin, Darshan Barbosa (academic recognition), Nick E Beare, Laura L. Bertschinger, Elayne Bilbrey (academic recognition), Peggy S Black, Andre Bolm, Mallory Boor, Katie L Bour (academic recognition), Susann Bretschneider, Alicia A. Brown, Corey Buckland, Clare Bucklin, Jon P. Callahan (academic recognition), Sarah M Cowles, Donica J. Crichton, Douglas J. Dailey, Genevieve K. Dailey, Daniel R. Davies, Frank P DePaula (academic recognition), Kristine S Djerf (academic recognition), Steffani E Donahoe, Holly Doorn (academic recognition), Quinn P. Duffy, Denell M. Dykstra, Timothy K. Evenson (academic recognition), Joe Finn, Mark J. Fogelman, Christopher M Ford, Tuesday N. Frankus, Bryce M. Gades, Emma L. Getzin, Teri J. Gibson (academic recognition), Katarina S Gombocz, Andrew H Graupmann, Katie Graves, Merritt M. Groh (academic recognition), Kie L Haar, Kendra M. Hansen (academic recognition), Sandy R Hart, Taiana Hayes, Taiana Hayes, Amelia Heier, Nadine Herfurth, Sean M. Higgins, Branden R Hoefert, Rudy Hoffman (academic recognition), Rudy Hoffman (academic recognition), Angela V. Holland, Zack Holtquist, Christina A Huckfeldt, Chase Hurtig (academic recognition), Tasia M. Job, Dustin J Kempton, Christopher L Kenny, Greg Kerkman, Stacie H. Kjelden, Hannah R Korcuska, Kristin A Kritenbrink, Thomas Kurz, Laura A Kuschel, Joshua B. Laden, Brandy L. Lane, Michael D Langley, Tim Larsen (academic recognition), Jenna J Lee, Lacey A. Leichtnam, Ji Li, Zhong Yuan Li, Jason D Logan, Travis J Loof, Jessica C. Lussman (academic recognition), Betty G Marshall (academic recognition), Karissa S Martin, Seth R. Martin (academic recognition), Sarah M McCann, Meghan K. McCauley (academic recognition), Erika A. Menning (academic recognition), Natalie Michals, Leah A. Miller, Lindsey A Miller, Leticia Miranda Blanco, Vivian A. Moos, Michelle Moreno, Aaron J Mueller, Annie Mulloy, Philip L Munkvold, Amy L Myron, Mike K Neilson, Nikole M. Nuttall, Molly M O'Connor, Terry J Ohs, Kari A. Owens, Abraham J. Painter, Tynna L. Phillips, Nicole Pribil, Catherine V. Quinones, Erin M. Rasmussen, Todd Rasmussen (academic recognition), Jane M Reasoner, Andrew W. Reed, Stephanie J. Reed, Blaine H Reynolds, Christina Roberts, Anne Roche, Andrea K. Rubendall, Matthew T Sand, Tobi Schantz, Margaret J. Schuneman, Kristen F Schwasinger, Mathew P Sewell, Jacque Smidt, Christen R Smith, Paul W. Squyer, Heather R. Stanton, Aaron R Steele, Tyler A. Stewart, Kenneth J. Stoos (academic recognition), Maxwell F. Swanson (academic recognition), Tyler R. Swanson, Amber D Sween, Erin L Kunze, Kathryn M. Tracy, Seth W. Tripp, Jamie a Turgeon, Kendra S. Van Nyhuis, Kendra S. Van Nyhuis, Jerrid L. Van Sloten (academic recognition), Derek A. Vine (academic recognition), Jennifer VonEhwegen, Alexa R. Walker, Mary S Waller (academic recognition), Jessa R Waters, Caley D. Waysman (academic recognition), Erica P. Wergin, Kara M. Wevik, Steve P Wiblemo, Tanner Willard, Heather R Zimmerman, Winnie Y. Zou; Viborg – Jennifer J. Anderson, Lacy L. Vannorsdel; Wakonda – Mitch Hessman.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>