Disaster Centers change hours

The Disaster Recovery Centers operated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the South Dakota Office of Emergency Management have changed hours. The new hours are 10 a.m.-7 p.m. Mondays-Fridays, and 9 a.m.-2 p.m. Saturdays.

Other FEMA personnel, including home inspectors and Community Relations specialists, worked in Charles Mix, Hughes, Stanley and Union counties through the weekend.

South Dakotans who had damage, lost income or suffered injuries because of the flooding from March 11, 201,1 through July 22, 2011, are encouraged to register with FEMA first, as that is the first step to getting disaster aid. Registering means contacting FEMA directly and getting a registration number. Previous contacts with FEMA or emergency officials, or calling the state flood hotline, do not register anyone with FEMA. People and businesses can register by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 800-462-7585, or going online at www.disasterassistance.gov. The toll-free line will be in operation from 7 a.m.-10 p.m. CDT seven days a week until further notice.

Persons affected by the floods can also apply for federal assistance through a web-enabled mobile device or Smartphone by going to m.fema.gov and following the link to apply online for federal assistance and other recovery help.

State organizations that will be represented at the Disaster Recovery Center include the Department of Labor and Regulation (for those whose jobs were affected), the Department of Social Services, the Department of Health, the South Dakota Housing Development.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>