South Dakota’s First Couple to serve as Dakota Days Parade Marshals

South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard and his wife, Linda, will serve as Parade Marshals for the 97th Dakota Days Parade, which begins at 10 a.m. on Main Street in Vermillion on Saturday, Oct. 8. Daugaard is a South Dakota native who graduated from USD in 1975 with a B.S. in government.

The 2011 Dakota Days Executive Board at the University of South Dakota announced the calendar of events planned for the 97th Dakota Days celebration, �Raise the Dust,� Oct. 3-8. Kicking off the week at 7 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 3 in Slagle Hall Auditorium is a performance by Doug Benson, a stand-up comedian who has starred on several popular TV series, including �Comedy Central Presents� and �Last Comic Standing.� Students presenting a USD student I.D. will be admitted free. The public will be charged a $5 general admission fee.

Tuesday�s highlight is the Royalty Reveal ceremony, starting at 7 p.m. in Slagle Hall Auditorium. A pep rally will follow outside the auditorium on the landing between Slagle Hall and Old Main. Wednesday�s main event is a carnival at 5:30 p.m. at Prentis Park while on Thursday, Oct. 6, C-SPAN founder, chairman and CEO Brian Lamb will receive the Al Neuharth Award for Excellence in the Media at 7 p.m. at Slagle Hall Auditorium. Friday activities include several alumni celebrations throughout the community and a �Downtown Bash,� featuring The Kickback at the Eagles Club. Coyote Tailgate Nation follows Saturday�s parade at noon prior to the Coyotes� football game vs. Southern Utah at 4 p.m.  Mr. and Miss Dakota will be crowned during halftime of the game.

For a complete list of Dakota Days events, including event and activity sponsors, please visit or contact the committee directly at

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>