VHS golfers prepare for post-season action at home

Vermillion High's young golfers can hopefully squeeze some home-course advantage from the fairways and greens at The Bluffs in the next two weeks because all of their post-season play takes place at home.

The Bluffs will host the Region 2A tournament on Monday, followed by the state "A" boys tournament Oct. 3-4.  The top three teams in the regional qualify their full teams for the state tournament, and at least half of the golfers at the regional will also qualify for state as individuals.

The varsity Tanagers finished in the middle of the five-team pack at the Big 8 Conference meet in Lennox Tuesday with a 364 score.  Harrisburg won the conference title at 322 with West Central at 349, Madison 376 and Lennox 381.  Harrisburg's Nick Skajewski was individual champion with a 77.

Mitch Ellison led Vermillion with an 85.  Carter Andre carded an 88, Peter Haught a 94, Jake Odens a 97 and Paul Schwasinger a 110.

Vermillion was fourth in the JV standings with a team score of 413.  Harrisburg was champion at 390.  Tanager scores were Jay Munger's 99, Andrew Heine's 101, Tristan Meadows' 105, Sam Craig'2 108 and John Benson's 118.

In a home dual against Elk Point-Jefferson last Tuesday, the Tanagers trailed the Huskies by 12 strokes, 168-180, in the final tally.  EP-J's Connor Penfield was the medalist for the day with a 39.  Vermillion's scores were Pete Haught's 41, Carter Andre's 43, Mitch Ellison's 44, Andrew Heine's 52, and Paul Schwasinger's and Jay Munger's 53s.

The Tanagers had a team score of 352 for seventh place among eight teams at Elk Point-Jefferson's invitational meet Thursday.  Sioux Falls Christian won the team title with a 317 score, paced by their Jon Van't Hul with a 77.  Tea Area's Matt Drake also had a 77, but they both trailed medalist Dylan From, West Central, by two strokes.

Ellison led VHS with an 82, followed by Andre at 88, Jacob Odens at 91, Haught at 92, Schwasinger at 99 and Heine at 118.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>