Candidates file petitions for local elected offices

Area county and legislative races shaped up Tuesday as the deadline arrived for candidates to turn in petitions for the June 5 primary election.

Candidates had until 5 p.m. to submit their petitions to the Secretary of State's office, but petitions sent via registered mail prior to the deadline could be added in the next few days.

"We should have the final tally of petitions in over the next two days," Secretary of State Jason Gant stated in a media release. "On Friday, March 30, at 1 p.m., we will draw for ballot position for the legislative and statewide primary election candidates."

The last day for independent candidates to file nominating petitions with the Secretary of State or county auditor for all offices except president is June 5.

According to The Associated Press, the Republican Party will apparently once again field more candidates than Democrats in South Dakota legislative races.

State Democratic Party Chairman Ben Nesselhuf says he expects that by the time all candidates have filed, Democrats will compete for about 25 of the 30 Senate seats and 55 of the 70 House seats.

State Republican Party Executive Director Tony Post says the GOP expects to run candidates for 32 Senate seats and 65 House seats.

Candidates who have filed as of Tuesday afternoon for legislative District 17 (Clay and Turner counties), which includes Vermillion, are – State Senate, Republican John Chicoine of Parker and Democrat Tom Jones of Viborg; State House, Republican Nancy Rasmussen of Hurley and Democrats Ray Ring of Vermillion and Marion Sorlien of Viborg.

The following are local candidates for county, city and school races as of Tuesday afternoon:

Clay County: County Commissioners (at large), Democrats Ruth Bremer of Vermillion, Raymond "Dusty" Passick of Burbank and Leo Powell of Vermillion; and Republican Travis Mockler of Centerville; State's Attorney, Democrat Teddi Gertsma of Vermillion; Treasurer, Democrat Catherine Powell of Vermillion; Coroner, Democrat Tim McClelland of Vermillion.

Vermillion City Council: Central Ward, Kelsey Collier-Wise and Jenny French; Northeast Ward, Clarence Meins; and Northwest Ward, Howard Willson.

Vermillion School Board: Mark Bottolfson, Tim Schwasinger and Dave Stammer.

Special districts fielded the following local candidates:

Vermillion Water Development District: Area 1 Director, Roger Tigert of Vermillion; Area 4 Director Lowell Andersen of Hurley; Area 5 Director, Barry Olson of Chancellor.

Heartland Consumer Power District: District 1 Director, Mark Joffer of Parker; District 2 Director, Dan O'Connor of Burbank; District 3 Director, Larry Nielsen of Tulare; District 4 Director, Kay Anderson of Beresford; District 10 Director, David Westbrook of Madison.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>