Olson receives award at All-State Band in Brookings

Several music awards were presented on Saturday, March 24 during the All State Band Concerts in Brookings.

Dr. Rolf Olson, band director at the University of South Dakota was presented the Phi Beta Mu "Outstanding Bandmaster" Award by Jackie Stacey, band director at Watertown. Dr. Olson received the award in recognition of his achievement in the field of instrumental music education.

Dr. Olson is director of bands and trumpet professor at the University of South Dakota where he directs the Symphonic Band, Brass Choir, and Trumpet Ensemble. In addition to teaching studio trumpet, he teaches conducting and annually hosts the Quad State Honor Band Festival and Band Director Institute. Olson is active as a guest conductor, highlights which include the Nebraska Class B All State Band, South Dakota Middle School All State Band, Northwest Iowa Honor Band and the Dakota Wind Ensemble.

Olson is currently an adjudicator for South Dakota All State Band auditions, and does numerous clinics and adjudication for festivals and contests in the region. He is co-founder of the South Dakota All State Jazz Festival and has previously taught in Arlington, Vermillion and at Augustana College.

Also receiving awards were Dr. Corliss Johnson, retired member of the South Dakota State University Music Department, who was presented the National Federation of High Schools "Outstanding Music Educator Award," and Bob Carlson, who received the SDHSAA "Distinguished Service Award"; Carlson has been directing bands in Minnesota and South Dakota for the past 42 years, including the past 12 years at Sioux Falls Lincoln

Ken Pickering of Pierre received the SDHSAA "Distinguished Service Award"; Pickering has been an educator South Dakota for 48 years.

The South Dakota Bandmasters Association presented the "South Dakota Outstanding Young Bandmaster" Award to Julie Berger, band director at Huron, and Jacklynn Stacy, band director at Watertown High School, received Phi Beta Mu Distinguished Service Award for consistent and significant contribution to instrumental music in South Dakota over a period of 10 years or more.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>