Call for artists: Art for state building proposals

South Dakota artists have until Aug. 1, 2012, to submit purchase proposals for the South Dakota Art for State Buildings Program, Secretary of Tourism Jim Hagen announced today.

The Art for State Buildings program was created for the purpose of adding the work of talented South Dakota artists to the state's permanent art collection for display in conference and meeting rooms and other areas of state government buildings with significant public access. Work purchased this year will be installed in public access areas of the Capitol and/or other state buildings in the Capitol Complex.

"This is an exciting way to recognize and support our most gifted artists," said Hagen. "At the same time, it gives South Dakotans the opportunity to experience first-hand those artists who are actively contributing to the culture of the state."

Proposals of work that artists are offering for purchase should be submitted to the South Dakota Arts Council (SDAC), the agency charged with managing the program. South Dakota artists whose body of work has contributed to the state's cultural heritage and development are encouraged to apply.

Proposals will be reviewed by an advisory committee to the South Dakota Arts Council. Selection will be based on:

  • quality of the work
  • the artwork's relevance to South Dakota environment, history, heritage or culture
  • experience of the artist
  • permanence and safety, as required for public artworks

A complete Request for Proposals can be found on the SDAC website:, by calling 605-773-3301, by emailing or by writing the South Dakota Arts Council at 711 E. Wells Avenue, Pierre, SD  57501.

An office of the South Dakota Department of Tourism, the South Dakota Arts Council's mission is to provide grants and services to artists, arts organizations and schools across the state, with funding from the National Endowment for the Arts and South Dakota state government. For more information about SDAC grant programs and artist rosters, please visit

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism, the South Dakota Arts Council, and the South Dakota State Historical Society. The Department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>