Coyote Athletics honors 2011-12 Howling Pack Award winners

The University of South Dakota athletic department announced its 2011-12 Howling Pack Award winners Sunday at a ceremony at the Muenster University Center on the University of South Dakota campus. The event was organized by South Dakota's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC).

The annual event recognizes Coyote individual and team accomplishments on the field and in the classroom, as well as community service efforts. Awards highlighting the coach, team and play of the year are voted on by the SAAC committee, while the South Dakota staff bestows several accolades including Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Unsung Hero

Winner: Kenna Wolter – Women's Track (Outdoor)

Play / Performance of the Year (awarded to either a single athlete or a team)

Winner: Women's Basketball OT win over SDSU

Coach of the Year Award (awarded to one coach)

Winner: Ryun Williams – Women's Basketball

Team Community Service Award (one team)

Winner: Soccer

Outstanding Team of the Year Award

Winner: Women's Basketball

Outstanding: Freshman, Sophomore, Junior, Senior Award

Outstanding Male Freshman

Winner: Kyle McKelvey – Men's Track and Field

Outstanding Female Freshman

Winner: Analisa Huschle – Women's Track and Field

Outstanding Male Sophomore

Winner: Jeffrey Mettler – Men's Cross Country

Outstanding Female Sophomore

Winner: Bethany Buell – Women's Track and Field

Outstanding Male Junior

Winner: Casey Shade – Men's Track and Field

Outstanding Female Junior

Winner: Alexa Duling – Women's Track and Field

Outstanding Male Senior

Winner: Chris Ganious – Football

Outstanding Female Senior

Winners: Elizabeth Hoffman – Women's Swimming

Emma Ladwig – Women's Track & Field

Dr. John Van Why Award

Winner: Tom Compton – Football

Catie Tobin Award

Winner – Amber Hegge – Women's Basketball

Carl and Hazel Hoy Award

Winners: Alexa Duling Women's Track & Field

Louie Krogman – Men's Basketball

Male Scholar-Athlete Award

Winner: Chris Ganious – Football

Female Scholar-Athlete Award


Annie Roche – Women's Basketball

Emma Ladwig – Women's Cross Country

Coyote Character Awards:


Natalie Newman – Women's Track Indoor

Jasmine Mosley – Women's Track Outdoor

Kristin Steffen – Women's Cross Country

Travis Brenner – Men's Cross Country

Jeffery Mettler – Men's Track & Field

Veronika Makashov – Tennis

Natalie Walseth – Volleyball

Steve Tecker – Men's Basketball

Annie Roche – Women's Basketball

John Vining – Men's Golf

Nicole Funck – Women's Golf

Joe Dolan – Men's Swimming

Madisen Roberts – Women's Swimming

Will Powell – Football

Kassie Loe – Softball

Kaiti Porter – Soccer

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>