Governor’s Award recipient

The Clay County Historical Society, based in Vermillion, was presented with the 2012 Organizational


Governor's Award for History by the South Dakota State Historical Society on April 14 during the society's annual history conference in Pierre. The CCHS, headquartered in the historic Austin Whittemore House, has an active membership that supports a variety of activities that preserve and publicize the history of Clay County and its inhabitants. Accepting the award were, middle left to right, Thomas Thaden, Cleo Erickson and Maxine Johnson. Presenting the award were, from left, Brad Tennant, president of the society's board of trustees; Jay D. Vogt, society director; and James D. Hagen, secretary of the Department of Tourism, of which the society is a division. (Photo courtesy South Dakota State Historical Society)

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>