Vermillion American Legion presents awards to students

Vermillion American Legion Post #1 announces the students chosen for the 2012 School Awards.  Teachers from each of the elementary schools, St Agnes and middle school select students to receive the American Legion School Awards.  Students from each grade are chosen annually for this honor.  In addition to an American Legion School Award certificate, each student receives an American Legion Medal.

Chosen from Austin Elementary were Maya Radigan and Jacob Barber for the First Grade. Jolley School winners were Kodi Cottam and Hari Kadarkaraisamy for the Second Grade, from the Third Grade, Rebecca Burcham and Dillion Gestring; from the Fourth Grade, Kelly Mulheron and Brady Martinez; from the Fifth Grade, Kaya Lewis and Jacob Mortinsen. 

At the Middle School, Merrigan Iddings and Anthony Molina represented the Sixth Grade; Kyleigh Moran and Colton Rydstrom represented the Seventh Grade; and Kylee Retzlaff and Brandon Mockler were the winners from the Eighth Grade.

St. Agnes School award winners were Leah Herbster and Quinten Stange in the First Grade; Clare Dahlhoff and Zachary Brady in the Second Grade; Elaina Taggart and Nicholas Roob chosen in Grade Three;  Zadya Abbott and Carly Peckham representing the Fourth Grade; and Amanda Havermann and Regan Heine were the award winners in the Fifth Grade.

 "Students chosen to receive this recognition from the American Legion are students who have demonstrated outstanding development of the qualities of Courage, Honor, Leadership, Patriotism, Scholarship, Honesty, and Service." said Ray Hofman, Legion Americanism Officer, "and American Legion Post #1 is proud to recognize these young boys and girls who have been chosen by their teachers to represent their respective grades for the 2011 school year."

Legion members Dick Stensaas, Joe Conroy, Clinton Meadows and Gene Sanow assisted with the 2012 presentations.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>