Coyotes drop duals against North Dakota

Both Coyote swimming and diving teams lost their opening dual meets of the year against North Dakota as the men lost 155-133 and the women lost 153-132.

Shannon Moceri won two events for the women, placing first in the 100 breaststroke in 1:06.31 and winning the 200 breaststroke in 2:12.28. She and Colin Krysl were the only two Coyotes to win two events.

Several other Coyotes won at least one event and placed second in another. On the men's side, Krysl won the 100 butterfly and the 200 individual medley. He also placed second in the 200 butterfly. Ian Ford won the 100 backstroke in 53.65, and later was second in the 200 breaststroke in 2:16.16.

Women divers Megan Chmielewski and Megan Schutt also had a win and a second place. Chmielewski won the three-meter dive with a score of 230.26, with Schutt placing second in that event with 171.65. The two switched places in the one-meter dive with Schutt winning with 216.15 and Chmielewski in second with 215.15.

Men's diver Dustin Genz also had a win and a second-place. He won the one-meter dive with a 250.87 and was second in the three-meter with 280.13.

Paige Stavely won the women's 200 individual medley (2:17.15) and Blake Frederick won the 500 freestyle (4:59.50) to round out South Dakota's individual winners. Both Coyote teams also won the 400 freestyle relay (women in 3:44.06, men in 3:16.06).

Mariah Anderson and Maggie Smith also had good races with second- and third-place finishes each. Anderson was second in the 100 backstroke in 1:01.01, with Smith third in 1:01.17. Smith was second in the 200 backstroke, clocking in at 2:12.28. Anderson was third in that event in 2:12.78.

The Coyote swim teams will be at Iowa State for the Iowa State/Nebraska Double Dual on Friday. The event will start at 5 p.m.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>