‘Politicizing Aesthetics’ opens in the John A. Day Gallery at USD

Beginning Monday, Oct. 1, the John A. Day Gallery at the University of South Dakota will host the national juried exhibition, "Politicizing Aesthetics." This exhibit features artwork by eight contemporary artists from across the nation and will be on display through Nov. 2.

"Politicizing Aesthetics," juried by Monica Herman, director at Mixed Greens of New York City, includes eight artists whose work investigates the perceptions and misperceptions of American poverty, religion, material culture, national security, consumer waste and war. The eight artists in "Politicizing Aesthetics" are Cassie Marie Edwards of Madison, SD, George Bedell of La Plata, MD, Andrea Ferrigno of Iowa City, IA, Karen Hackenberg of Port Townsend, WA, Joe Johnson of Columbia, MO, Laurel McMechan of Allston, MA, Sarah Tortora of Guilford, CT, and Konstantin K. Zlatev of San Francisco, CA.

A closing reception for "Politicizing Aesthetics" is scheduled for 5 p.m. on Nov. 2. Because the exhibit leads up to the Tuesday, Nov. 6, general election, attendees are encouraged to dress as their favorite politician.

Also that day at 3 p.m. at the Day Gallery, Pat Boyd from South Dakotans for the Arts and Michael Pangburn from the South Dakota Arts Council will present on the topic of government funding and the arts.

The exhibition, reception and special presentation by Boyd and Pangburn are free and open to the public.

For more information about upcoming exhibitions, e-mail Alison Erazmus, director of the University Art Galleries, at Alison.Erazmus@usd.edu or call at (605) 677-3177. To see more photographs of exhibitions and gallery events, "Like" the University Art Galleries Facebook page at www.facebook.com/pages/University-Art-Galleries-University-of-South-Dakota/192268047504339 or visit the UAG We bsite at www.usd.edu/uag.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>